Difference between pages "Set Card Galleries:Asian Tournament Promos: 2001 (OCG-JP)" and "Card Rulings:Embodiment of Apophis"

From Yugipedia
(Difference between pages)
Jump to: navigation, search
m (image renamed)
 
 
Line 1: Line 1:
{{OCGSetGalleries}}
+
{{Navigation|Other=[[Embodiment of Apophis (DDM)|Dungeon Dice Monsters]]}}
  
<div style="text-align:center"><b><big>[[Asian Tournament Promos: 2001]]</big></b><br />{{FlagLang|Japan|x25px}}</div><br />
+
==TCG Rulings==
 +
* Once "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" has been activated, it takes up 1 [[Monster Card Zone]] and 1 [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]]. The physical location of "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" should be on the [[Monster Card Zone]]s, however.<ref name="Netrep">[http://netrep.net/ Netrep]: Individual Card Rulings on [[Netrep]]</ref>
  
{| class="card-galleries"
+
* If your Monster Card Zones are all full you cannot activate "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]". If your [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]]s are all full you cannot take [[control]] of your opponent's "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" because you will need 1 [[Monster Card Zone]] and 1 [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]] for it.<ref name="Netrep"/>
|-
 
!| <big>Second Annual Conference</big><br/>''(OCG - Japanese)''
 
|-
 
||
 
<gallery widths="175px">
 
MasahirotheDarkClown-T2-JP-UR.jpg      | [[T2-01]] ([[UR]])<br/>[[Masahiro the Dark Clown]]<br/>{{Ruby|闇|やみ}}{{Ruby|道|どう}}{{Ruby|化|け}}{{Ruby|師|し}}と{{Ruby|化|か}}したマサヒロ
 
YasushitheSkullKnight-T2-JP-UR.jpg      | [[T2-02]] ([[UR]])<br/>[[Yasushi the Skull Knight]]<br/>{{Ruby|髑|ど}}{{Ruby|髏|くろ}}の{{Ruby|司|し}}{{Ruby|祭|さい}}ヤスシ
 
TomohirotheMountainWarrior-T2-JP-UR.jpg | [[T2-03]] ([[UR]])<br/>[[Tomohiro the Mountain Warrior]]<br/>{{Ruby|山|さん}}{{Ruby|岳|がく}}の{{Ruby|闘|とう}}{{Ruby|士|し}}トモヒロ
 
</gallery>
 
|}
 
  
{| class="card-galleries"
+
* If your opponent has no vacant [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]]s, you cannot give them "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" for "[[Creature Swap]]". If "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is your only monster in such a case, neither player can activate "[[Creature Swap]]".<ref name="Netrep"/>
|-
 
!| <big>Third Annual Conference</big><br/>''(OCG - Japanese)''
 
|-
 
||
 
<gallery widths="175px">
 
BlueEyesUltimateDragon-T3-JP-UR.jpg | [[T3-01]] ([[UR]])<br/>[[Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon]]<br/>{{Ruby|青眼の究極竜|ブルーアイズ・アルティメットドラゴン}}
 
SummonedSkull-T3-JP-UR.png          | [[T3-02]] ([[UR]])<br/>[[Summoned Skull]]<br/>デーモンの{{Ruby|召|しょう}}{{Ruby|喚|かん}}
 
Kuriboh-T3-JP-UR.jpg                | [[T3-03]] ([[UR]])<br/>[[Kuriboh]]<br/>クリボー
 
GeminiElf-T3-JP-UR.jpg              | [[T3-04]] ([[UR]])<br/>[[Gemini Elf]]<br/>ヂェミナイ・エルフ
 
RedEyesBDragon-T3-JP-UR.jpg        | [[T3-05]] ([[UR]])<br/>[[Red-Eyes B. Dragon]]<br/>{{Ruby|真紅眼の黒竜|レッドアイズ・ブラックドラゴン}}
 
</gallery>
 
|}
 
  
[[Category:Set Card Galleries|{{PAGENAME}}]]
+
* You can activate "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" during your opponent's [[Phase#Main Phase 1|Main Phase]], or your own.<ref name="Netrep"/>
[[Category:OCG Set Card Galleries|{{PAGENAME}}]]
+
 
[[Category:Japanese Set Card Galleries|{{PAGENAME}}]]
+
* While "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is a monster, it is still treated as a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]] and can be destroyed by "[[Heavy Storm]]" or "[[Mystical Space Typhoon]]".<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If an effect that destroys [[Trap Cards]] is used against "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]", you can use "[[Fake Trap]]" to prevent it from being destroyed. When preventing the destruction of "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]", you must be using a card of the appropriate type. You cannot use "[[My Body as a Shield]]" to rescue it from "[[Heavy Storm]]". You cannot use "[[Fake Trap]]" to rescue it from "[[Raigeki]]". You can use "[[Riryoku Field]]" when "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is targeted by "[[Snatch Steal]]", but not when it's targeted by "[[Mystical Space Typhoon]]". You can use any of these effects to protect "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" from "[[Raigeki Break]]" because "[[Raigeki Break]]" can destroy a Monster card or a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]].<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* vs. "[[Jinzo]]": If "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is a monster, and "[[Jinzo]]" or "[[Royal Decree]]" is played, "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" cannot remain as a monster and is placed [[face-up]] in the [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]], where it remains on the field meaninglessly (even if "[[Jinzo]]" leaves play later). If "[[Royal Decree]]" is [[chain|chained]] to the activation of "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]", the effect of "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is [[negate|negated]] and it remains on the field in the [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]] meaninglessly.<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" attacks a face-down "[[Jinzo]]", once "[[Jinzo]]" is flipped [[face-up]], "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" reverts to a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]]. [[Damage calculation]] is not applied.<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is a monster, and is flipped [[face-down]], it goes back to the [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]] as a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]] (vertically, since Trap Cards do not have [[Battle Position|battle positions]]). You cannot activate "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" that same turn, because it is a Trap Card that was just [[Set]].<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* When "Embodiment of Apophis" is sent to the [[Graveyard]], it is sent as a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]] and remains treated as a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]]. You cannot revive it with "[[Monster Reborn]]" or retrieve it with "[[Return of the Doomed]]". It will not trigger "[[Last Will]]". You cannot activate "[[Michizure]]". It will not be Special Summoned by "[[Red-Moon Baby]]". No damage is inflicted by "[[KA-2 Des Scissors]]" or "[[Inferno]]" or "[[Fatal Abacus]]". "[[Emes the Infinity]]" does not increase its ATK. No Life Points are increased by "[[Absorbing Kid from the Sky]]". You would not gain Life Points for "[[Altar for Tribute]]". (You can, however, now add it back to your hand with "[[Mask of Darkness]]".)<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If your opponent controls your "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" as a monster with "[[Snatch Steal]]" or "[[Creature Swap]]", and it is flipped face-down, it goes to your opponent's [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]] because he/she is the [[controller]].<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If your opponent controls your "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" as a monster with "[[Snatch Steal]]", and "[[Jinzo]]" is Summoned, it returns to your [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]] and remains there meaninglessly. If your opponent controls your "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" as a monster because of "[[Creature Swap]]", and "[[Jinzo]]" is Summoned, it is placed on your opponent's [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]] and remains there meaninglessly.<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is considered a [[Normal Monsters|Normal Monster]]. It does not inflict damage for "[[Ceasefire]]". You can use "[[Delta Attacker]]" if you have 3 "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" monsters. You can [[Tribute]] "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" for "[[Sword of the Soul-Eater]]" while it is a monster.<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If "[[Non-Spellcasting Area]]" is active, "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" cannot be destroyed by "[[Raigeki]]", etc., but can still be destroyed by "[[Heavy Storm]]" or "[[Mystical Space Typhoon]]".<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]", while a monster, has original [[ATK]] 1600 and original [[DEF]] 1800 (for purposes of "[[Megamorph]]", etc.).<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* You can negate the activation of "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" by chaining "[[Solemn Judgment]]" or "[[Seven Tools of the Bandit]]" or "[[Royal Oppression]]", but you cannot use these against it once it is a monster.<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* When "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is [[Special Summon]]ed, you can activate "[[Torrential Tribute]]" just like with any other Summon.<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* You can use "[[Chain Destruction]]" when "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is Special Summoned, and "[[Chain Destruction]]" will destroy all copies of "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" in the hand and [[Deck]] even though they are [[Trap Cards]].<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* You can use "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" as a [[Tribute]] once it is a monster. You cannot [[Tribute]] it for a [[Ritual Summon]], etc., while it is in your hand.<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is a monster and "[[Morphing Jar 2|Morphing Jar <sup>#</sup>2]]" is activated, "Embodiment of Apophis" is shuffled into the [[Deck]] as a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]], so it does NOT count towards the number of monsters you need to pick up. (Also, if you pick up "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" for the effect of "[[Morphing Jar 2|Morphing Jar <sup>#</sup>2]]", it is not counted as a monster and will be one of the cards sent to the [[Graveyard]].)<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If you pick up "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" for "[[Cyber Jar]]", it is added to your [[hand]].<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is a monster and is equipped to "[[Relinquished]]", "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is treated as any other monster equipped to "[[Relinquished]]", and "[[Relinquished]]" gets 1600 [[ATK]] and 1800 [[DEF]].<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is a monster, "[[Giant Trunade]]" will still return it to the owner's [[hand]].<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* When "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is a monster, and is returned to the hand by "[[Penguin Soldier]]", etc., it is returned as a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]]. So you cannot activate "[[Major Riot]]".<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* You can target "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" with "[[Monster Recovery]]" while it is a monster, and return it to the [[Deck]].<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is a monster, and you use "[[Magical Hats]]" with it, it returns to your [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]] [[face-down]]. The other effects of "[[Magical Hats]]" apply normally.<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" battles "[[D.D. Warrior Lady]]" and her effect is activated, both will be removed from play.<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If you select "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" as your monster for "[[Last Turn]]", it is not sent to the [[Graveyard]] even though "[[Last Turn]]" sends all other cards to the [[Graveyard]].<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If you control "[[Theban Nightmare]]" and "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]", you control a Trap Card so the effect of "[[Theban Nightmare]]" cannot be applied.<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If you change "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" to [[Type#Machine|Machine]]-[[Type]] and use "[[Limiter Removal]]", then "[[Jinzo]]" is Summoned later that turn and "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" switches back to a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]], "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is not destroyed in the [[Phase#End Phase|End Phase]] by "[[Limiter Removal]]".<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
* If you use "[[Dimensionhole]]" or "[[Interdimensional Matter Transporter]]" against "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]", it returns to the field as a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]] and is destroyed immediately. If "[[Dimensionhole]]" was used, you cannot use the [[Monster Card Zone]] while "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is removed from play, but you can use the [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]] it was occupying.<ref name="Netrep"/>
 +
 
 +
===Mentions in Other Rulings===
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Dark Strike Fighter|Dark Strike Fighter]]''': Compute damage based on the monster’s [[Level]] while it was on the field, not its level in the [[Graveyard]] or [[removed zone]]. This means you can Tribute “[[Embodiment of Apophis]]” or “[[Zoma the Spirit]]” to do 800 damage.
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Dimensional Inversion|Dimensional Inversion]]''': You cannot activate "[[Dimensional Inversion]]" when a Trap Monster like "Embodiment of Apophis" is removed from play.
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Elemental Hero Glow Neos|Elemental Hero Glow Neos]]''': If you destroy "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]", it is treated as a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]] after it is destroyed, so the additional effect for destroying a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]] is applied.
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Generation Shift|Generation Shift]]''': You can target "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" with "[[Generation Shift]]". It will be destroyed and a copy of "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" from your [[Deck]] will be added to your [[hand]].
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Hate Buster|Hate Buster]]''': "[[Hate Buster]]" inflicts damage equal to the [[Original ATK and DEF|original ATK]] of the destroyed monster after it is sent to the [[Graveyard]] or [[Removed from Play Zone|removed zone]]. If you destroy a [[Token Monsters|Monster Token]] or a [[Trap Monsters|Trap Card that is treated as a monster]] ("[[Embodiment of Apophis]]", etc.) no damage will be inflicted.
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Linear Accelerator Cannon|Linear Accelerator Cannon]]''': You can [[Tribute]] a Trap Monster like "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" for this effect, but no damage will be inflicted.
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Neo-Spacian Dark Panther|Neo-Spacian Dark Panther]]''': You can target "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" when it is a monster but only the card name will be copied. It does not have an effect to copy. "[[Neo-Spacian Dark Panther]]" will NOT be treated as a [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]].
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Neo-Spacian Flare Scarab|Neo-Spacian Flare Scarab]]''': If your opponent has "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" on the field as a monster, it is still treated as 1 [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]], so "[[Neo-Spacian Flare Scarab]]" gains 400 [[ATK]].
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Next to be Lost|Next to be Lost]]''': You can target "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" with "[[Next to be Lost]]", and a copy of "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" will be sent from your [[Deck]] to your [[Graveyard]].
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Sage of Silence|Sage of Silence]]''': If this card destroys "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]", this effect will activate.
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Sage of Stillness|Sage of Stillness]]''': If this card destroys "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]", this effect will activate.
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Straight Flush|Straight Flush]]''': If your opponent controls an "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" as a Monster Card, it is not counted as a card in the [[Spell & Trap Card Zone]] (even though 1 of those Zones cannot be used). So you could not activate "[[Straight Flush]]".
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Time Machine|Time Machine]]''': If "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, "[[Time Machine]]" cannot be activated because "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is not a [[monster]] while in the Graveyard.
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Treeborn Frog|Treeborn Frog]]''': If an effect is chained to "[[Treeborn Frog]]" that puts a [[Spell Cards|Spell]] or [[Trap Cards|Trap Card]] on your side of field, then "[[Treeborn Frog]]'s" effect will not resolve. Example: The opponent controls your "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" and activates "[[Remove Brainwashing]]".
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Turret Warrior|Turret Warrior]]''': You can Tribute a [[Warrior]]-Type Token monster to Special Summon “[[Turret Warrior]]”, or a card like “[[Embodiment of Apophis]]” that is currently a [[Warrior]]. “[[Turret Warrior]]” still gains the appropriate ATK in these cases.
 +
 
 +
* '''[[Card Rulings:Uria, Lord of Searing Flames|Uria, Lord of Searing Flames]]''': You can send "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" to the [[Graveyard]] even while it is a monster, because it is still a [[Continuous Trap Cards|Continuous Trap Card]].
 +
 
 +
===Semi-Official===
 +
 
 +
{{TrapMonsterRulings}}
 +
 
 +
==OCG Rulings==
 +
*When "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" has its name changed to "[[Elemental Hero Neos]]" by "[[Hero Mask]]", you may select it as a target of "[[Wrath of Neos]]".  "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" is returned to the deck, and "[[Wrath of Neos]]" will destroy all cards.<ref>[http://yugioh.faq.konami.jp/EokpControl?&lang=en&tid=43597&event=FE0006 Konami FAQ]: For "Wrath of Neos", when a Token or "Embodiment of Apophis" is being treated as "Elemental Hero Neos", can you return it to the deck to destroy all cards on the field?</ref>
 +
 
 +
*The damage inflicted by "[[Dark Strike Fighter]]" is based on the [[Tribute]]d monster's Level while it is on the field.  If you [[Tribute]] "[[Zoma the Spirit]]" or "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]", you will inflict 800 damage.<ref>[http://yugioh.faq.konami.jp/EokpControl?&lang=en&tid=46454&event=FE0006 Konami FAQ]: When Tributing an "Embodiment of Apophis", etc, which is begin treated as a monster for "Dark Strike Fighter", is damage inflicted?</ref>
 +
 
 +
*While "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" or "[[Zoma the Spirit]]" are being treated as Monster Cards, they are also treated as Trap Cards, so they can be sent to the Graveyard to Special Summon "[[Trap Eater]]".<ref>[http://yugioh.faq.konami.jp/EokpControl?&lang=en&tid=46578&event=FE0006 Konami FAQ]: Can "Trap Eater" be Special Summoned by sending "Zoma the Spirit" etc to the Graveyard?</ref>
 +
 
 +
*After the effect of "[[Calming Magic]]" has resolved, players cannot Special Summon monsters and cannot choose to activate effects which Special Summon monsters.<ref name="CM-Det">[http://yugioh.faq.konami.jp/EokpControl?&lang=en&tid=48887&event=FE0006 Konami FAQ]: Please explain whether or not a player can activate an effect which Special Summons a monster while the effect of "Calming Magic" is being applied.</ref>
 +
**Neither player can activate effects like those of "[[Gorz the Emissary of Darkness]]", "[[Monster Reborn]]", "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]", etc.<ref name="CM-Det"/>
 +
 
 +
*You can activate "[[Magic Planter]]" by sending to the Graveyard an "[[Embodiment of Apophis]]" which is in the Monster Card Zone and being treated as a Monster Card.<ref name="MP-MC-EoA">[http://yugioh.faq.konami.jp/EokpControl?&lang=en&tid=48934&event=FE0006 Konami FAQ]: Can "Macro Cosmos" or "Zoma the Spirit" be sent to the Graveyard to activate "Magic Planter"?</ref>
 +
 
 +
==References==
 +
<references/>

Revision as of 19:04, 1 May 2009

TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Semi-Official

Template:TrapMonsterRulings

OCG Rulings

References

  1. 1.00 1.01 1.02 1.03 1.04 1.05 1.06 1.07 1.08 1.09 1.10 1.11 1.12 1.13 1.14 1.15 1.16 1.17 1.18 1.19 1.20 1.21 1.22 1.23 1.24 1.25 1.26 1.27 1.28 1.29 1.30 Netrep: Individual Card Rulings on Netrep
  2. Konami FAQ: For "Wrath of Neos", when a Token or "Embodiment of Apophis" is being treated as "Elemental Hero Neos", can you return it to the deck to destroy all cards on the field?
  3. Konami FAQ: When Tributing an "Embodiment of Apophis", etc, which is begin treated as a monster for "Dark Strike Fighter", is damage inflicted?
  4. Konami FAQ: Can "Trap Eater" be Special Summoned by sending "Zoma the Spirit" etc to the Graveyard?
  5. 5.0 5.1 Konami FAQ: Please explain whether or not a player can activate an effect which Special Summons a monster while the effect of "Calming Magic" is being applied.
  6. Konami FAQ: Can "Macro Cosmos" or "Zoma the Spirit" be sent to the Graveyard to activate "Magic Planter"?