Difference between revisions of "Special Summon-only monster"

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search
(update after rename)
(Card text)
 
(2 intermediate revisions by the same user not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
 
{{For|the Tip Card|Special Summon-only monsters (Tip Card)}}
 
{{For|the Tip Card|Special Summon-only monsters (Tip Card)}}
[[File:DarkSage-LCYW-EN-C-1E.png|thumb|200px|right|"[[Dark Sage]]", a Special Summon-only monster]]
+
{{Show card image|Photon Thrasher|"[[Photon Thrasher]]", a Special Summon-only monster.}}
'''Special Summon-only monsters''', often referred to as '''Semi-Nomi''' monsters, are [[Special Summon Monster]]s that normally can only be [[Special Summon]]ed from a non-[[public knowledge]] location by the method specified in their card text.
 
  
Special Summon-only monsters can be identified by the card text "''Cannot be [[Normal Summon]]ed/[[Set]]. Must first be [[Special Summon]]ed...''" (or an older variant).<ref>{{cite web|last1=Taketa|first1=Gregory|title=Special Summons – Spotting the Different Kinds|url=https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=1099|publisher=Yu-Gi-Oh! TRADING CARD GAME STRATEGY SITE|accessdate=25 April 2018|date=7 December 2009}}</ref> [[Ritual Monster|Ritual]], [[Fusion Monster|Fusion]], [[Synchro Monster|Synchro]], [[Xyz Monster|Xyz]], and [[Link Monster]]s that are Special Summon-only monsters do not include the text "''Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set.''" because it is unnecessary; if they can be Ritual/Fusion/Synchro/Xyz/Link Summoned, they replace "''Special Summoned''" with "''Ritual/Fusion/Synchro/Xyz/Link Summoned''".
+
'''Special Summon-only monsters''', informally known as '''Semi-Nomi''' monsters, is a category of [[Special Summon Monster]]s with printed Special Summoning [[procedure]]s, and can be Special Summoned by other effects (from public knowledge locations) once they are [[properly Special Summon]]ed.
  
Some examples of Special Summon-only monsters include "[[Aqua Spirit]]", "[[XYZ-Dragon Cannon]]" and "[[Gem-Knight Ruby]]".
+
They are distinguished from "[[Nomi]]" monsters, who also have printed Special Summoning procedures, but cannot be Special Summoned by effects even after they are properly Special Summoned.
 
 
==Mechanics==
 
A Special Summon-only monster cannot be Special Summoned from a non-[[public knowledge]] location (the [[hand]], [[Main Deck]], or [[face-down]] [[Extra Deck]]), except by the specified method, unless the card effect [[Ignoring the Summoning conditions|ignores the Summoning conditions]].
 
 
 
A Special Summon-only monster can be Special Summoned from a public knowledge location (the [[Graveyard]], while [[banish]]ed, [[face-up]] Extra Deck, [[Spell & Trap Zone]], or [[Pendulum Zone]]) by methods other than the specified one, as long as it was Special Summoned properly first. This contrasts to "[[Nomi]]" monsters, which can only be Summoned by the specified method, even after they have been properly Special Summoned.
 
 
 
If the Summon of a Special Summon Monster is [[negate]]d (such as by "[[Black Horn of Heaven]]"), it is not considered to have been properly Special Summoned, even if the negated Summon was a [[Flip Summon]] after being properly Special Summoned. If a Special Summon Monster is in a public knowledge location and was not Special Summoned properly, it cannot be Special Summoned by any means other than the proper method, even by ignoring the Summoning conditions.<ref name="PRB">{{cite book  |author=Konami  |title=Yu-Gi-Oh! Official Card Game - Perfect Rulebook 2015 |url=https://ygorganization.com/perfect-rulebook-2017/ |page=84}}</ref>
 
 
 
After a Special Summon Monster is properly Special Summoned, as long as that Monster Card remains in a public knowledge location (on the [[field]] even if face-down, in the Graveyard, [[banish]]ed, or face-up in the [[Extra Deck]]), it is considered properly Special Summoned.
 
 
 
==Example==
 
A player [[banish]]es three [[Fiend]]-[[Type]] monsters from the Graveyard to Special Summon "[[Dark Necrofear]]".
 
*If "Dark Necrofear" is [[Send|sent]] to the Graveyard, such as by being destroyed by "[[Raigeki Break]]", it can be Special Summoned from the Graveyard with a card like "[[Monster Reborn]]".
 
*If "Dark Necrofear" is banished, such as by "[[Dark Core]]", it can be Special Summoned while banished with a card like "[[Dimensional Inversion]]".
 
 
 
However, if it is moved to other locations, it cannot be Special Summoned except by the specified method.
 
*If "Dark Necrofear" is [[return]]ed to the [[hand]] or [[Main Deck|Deck]], such as by "[[Compulsory Evacuation Device]]" or "[[Phoenix Wing Wind Blast]]", it cannot be Special Summoned by any way other than the proper way (except by a card or effect that [[Ignoring the Summoning conditions|ignores its Summoning conditions]], like "[[A Wild Monster Appears!]]").
 
**Even if it is later sent to the Graveyard or banished, such as by "[[Graceful Charity]]" or "[[Allure of Darkness]]", it cannot be Special Summoned because it was not properly Special Summoned.
 
  
 
==List of Special Summon-only monsters==
 
==List of Special Summon-only monsters==
 
{{main|List of Special Summon-only monsters}}
 
{{main|List of Special Summon-only monsters}}
  
==Text==
+
==Card text==
{{Errata table
+
Current Special Summon-only monsters are identified by the following card text:
| lore0  = <del>This card</del> '''cannot''' be Normal Summoned or Set. <del>This card can only</del> be Special Summoned [...]
 
| image0 = RedEyesBlackMetalDragon-FMR-NA-PScR-UE.png
 
| cap0  = [[Yu-Gi-Oh! Forbidden Memories promotional cards]]
 
 
 
| lore1  = '''Cannot''' be Normal Summoned<del> or </del>Set. <ins>Must first</ins> be Special Summoned [...]
 
| image1 = SuperCrashbug-GENF-EN-SR-1E.jpg
 
| cap1  = [[Problem-Solving Card Text]]<br />[[Generation Force]]
 
 
 
| lore2  = Cannot be Normal Summoned<ins>/</ins>Set. Must first be Special Summoned [...]
 
| image2 = DarkSage-LCYW-EN-C-1E.png
 
| cap2  = [[Problem-Solving Card Text]]<br />[[Legendary Collection 3: Yugi's World]]
 
}}
 
 
 
===Fusion Summon Fusion Monster===
 
{{Errata table
 
| lore0  = <del>This monster can only</del> be <del>Special</del> Summoned <del>by Fusion Summon (from the Extra Deck)</del>.
 
| image0 = DragonKnightDracoEquiste-DREV-EN-UR-1E.jpg
 
| cap0  = [[Duelist Revolution]]<!--2010-08-17-->
 
 
 
| lore1  = <ins>Must first</ins> be <ins>Fusion</ins> Summoned [...]
 
| image1 = GemKnightRuby-HA05-EN-ScR-1E.png
 
| cap1  = [[Problem-Solving Card Text]]<br />[[Hidden Arsenal 5: Steelswarm Invasion]]<!--2011-12-01-->
 
}}
 
 
 
===Contact Fusion Fusion Monster===
 
{{Errata table
 
| lore0  = This <del>monster</del> can only be Special Summoned [...]
 
| image0 = XYZDragonCannon-MFC-NA-UR-1E.jpg
 
| cap0  = [[Magician's Force]]<!--2003-10-10-->
 
 
 
| lore1  = This <ins>card</ins> can only be Special Summoned <ins>from your <del>Fusion</del> Deck</ins> [...]
 
| image1 = VWXYZDragonCatapultCannon-EEN-EN-SR-1E.jpg
 
| cap1  = [[Elemental Energy]]<!--2005-11-16-->
 
 
 
| lore2  = <del>This card can only</del> be Special Summoned from your <ins>Extra</ins> Deck [...]
 
| image2 = GladiatorBeastHeraklinos-TDGS-EN-SR-LE.png
 
| cap2  = [[The Duelist Genesis: Special Edition]]<!--2008-10-07-->
 
  
| lore3  = <ins>Must first</ins> be Special Summoned <ins>(</ins>from your Extra Deck<ins>)</ins> [...]
+
* "Cannot be [[Normal Summon]]ed/[[Set]]." (for [[Main Deck]] non-[[Ritual Monster|Ritual]] monsters)
| image3 = ArmityletheChaosPhantom-LCGX-EN-UR-1E.png
+
* "[[Must first be]] [''Summon procedure'']."<ref>{{cite web|last1=Taketa|first1=Gregory|title=Special Summons – Spotting the Different Kinds|url=https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=1099|publisher=Yu-Gi-Oh! TRADING CARD GAME STRATEGY SITE|accessdate=25 April 2018|date=7 December 2009}}</ref>
| cap3  = [[Problem-Solving Card Text]]<br />[[Legendary Collection 2: The Duel Academy Years Mega Pack]]<!--2011-10-04-->
 
}}
 
  
==See also==
+
Earlier card texts do not distinguish between "Must be" and "Must first be" distinctions, and thus, their status as Special Summon-only monsters can only be distinguished through card-specific ruling.
*[[Nomi]]
 
*[[Special Summon Monster]]
 
  
 
==References==
 
==References==

Latest revision as of 00:51, 12 February 2024

Photon Thrasher
"Photon Thrasher", a Special Summon-only monster.

Special Summon-only monsters, informally known as Semi-Nomi monsters, is a category of Special Summon Monsters with printed Special Summoning procedures, and can be Special Summoned by other effects (from public knowledge locations) once they are properly Special Summoned.

They are distinguished from "Nomi" monsters, who also have printed Special Summoning procedures, but cannot be Special Summoned by effects even after they are properly Special Summoned.

List of Special Summon-only monsters[edit]

Card text[edit]

Current Special Summon-only monsters are identified by the following card text:

Earlier card texts do not distinguish between "Must be" and "Must first be" distinctions, and thus, their status as Special Summon-only monsters can only be distinguished through card-specific ruling.

References[edit]

  1. Taketa, Gregory (7 December 2009). "Special Summons – Spotting the Different Kinds". Yu-Gi-Oh! TRADING CARD GAME STRATEGY SITE. Retrieved 25 April 2018.