Card Rulings:Abyss Stungray

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

Trap Monster Rulings

TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • The ATK of "Kasha" is determined by the number of returned monsters which are Zombie-Type while they are in the Deck. If "Zoma the Spirit" is returned to the Deck, it is not a Zombie-Type monster while in the Deck, so it is not counted. Token Monsters are not returned to the Deck, so they will not be counted.[11]
A: After being Special Summoned by its own effect, "Embodiment of Apophis" is treated as a monster that cannot be Normal Summoned/Set, so you can banish it as the cost to activate "Hypernova Burst". (The effect to draw 2 cards is applied normally.)[13][14]
A: For cards such as "Metal Reflect Slime" that are still treated as Trap Cards after being Special Summoned, the effect of "Lord of the Heavenly Prison" will still apply to them even after they are Special Summoned. (They are banished during the End Phase of the next turn after they were Set.) Cards that are not still treated as Trap Cards after being Special Summoned, such as "The Phantom Knights of Shade Brigandine", no longer have the effect of "Lord of the Heavenly Prison" applied to them once they are Special Summoned. (They are not banished during the End Phase of the next turn.)[15][16]
A: After being activated, "Embodiment of Apophis" becomes a monster and is still also treated as a Trap, but it does not exist in the Spell & Trap Zone and only occupies a Monster Zone. Therefore, if the only card your opponent controls is an "Embodiment of Apophis" treated as a monster, "Secret Barrel" only inflicts 200 damage to your opponent for it.[17][18]
A: They are sent to the GY without being banished. (The result is the same whether or not the card is still treated as a Trap Card while in the Monster Zone.)[19][20]
  • Q: When resolving the effect of "Exchange of the Heart" that I activated, a "Metal Reflect Slime" is sent from my opponent's Monster Zone to the GY. In that case, can I then Special Summon any monsters from my opponent's GY to my field?
A: No, you cannot. Only cards that were sent to the GY by the effect of "Exchange of the Heart" and still exist as monsters in the GY are counted toward the number of monsters a player can Special Summon. In the above situation, "Metal Reflect Slime" is not treated as a monster when sent to the GY, so it is not counted toward the number of monsters you can Special Summon.[21][22]
  • Q: "The Prime Monarch", which was Special Summoned by its own effect and not treated as a Trap Card, and "The First Monarch", which was Special Summoned by its own effect and is still treated as a Trap Card, are both face-up in my Monster Zone. In this situation, when resolving the effect of "Apophis the Swamp Deity", how many cards' effects can be negated?
A: Only 1 card can have its effects negated. "The First Monarch" that was Special Summoned by its own effect is treated as both a monster and a Continuous Trap in the Monster Zone. On the other hand, "The Prime Monarch" that was Special Summoned by its own effect is treated as a monster in the Monster Zone, but not a Continuous Trap.[23][24]
  • Q: If an "Embodiment of Apophis" Special Summoned by its own effect (Reptile-Type) or a "Quantum Cat" activated by declaring Reptile-Type and Special Summoned are sent to the GY, can I activate the effect of "Viper's Grudge" that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower Reptile monster from my Deck?
A: If "Embodiment of Apophis" or "Quantum Cat" were destroyed by battle, you can activate the effect of "Viper's Grudge". (If a Reptile monster in the Monster Zone is destroyed by battle, the effect can be activated because a "Reptile monster you control is destroyed by battle".)
  • If "Embodiment of Apophis" or "Quantum Cat" are sent to the GY by any means other than being destroyed by battle, you cannot activate the effect of "Viper's Grudge". (In order to activate the effect when a "Reptile monster you control is sent to the GY", the monster must be Reptile-Type both in the Monster Zone and in the GY. In the above situation, "Embodiment of Apophis" and "Quantum Cat" are treated as Reptile monsters while in the Monster Zone, but not treated as monsters in the GY so they have no Type.)[25][26]

Mentions in Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Notes

  1. a b Note that not all of the Trap Monsters are treated as Effect Monsters. For example Embodiment of Apophis is treated as a Normal Monster.

References

  1. a b c Konami TCG Strategy Site: Trap Monsters: How Do They Work?
  2. Konami FAQ: For "Wrath of Neos", can you return "Embodiment of Apophis" or a Token Monster being treated as "Elemental Hero Neos" to the Deck to destroy all cards on the field?
  3. Konami FAQ: When Tributing an "Embodiment of Apophis", etc, which is begin treated as a monster for "Dark Strike Fighter", is damage inflicted?
  4. Konami FAQ: Can "Trap Eater" be Special Summoned by sending "Zoma the Spirit" etc to the Graveyard?
  5. Konami FAQ: Can "Macro Cosmos" or "Zoma the Spirit" be sent to the Graveyard to activate "Magic Planter"?
  6. Konami FAQ: Is a "Embodiment of Apophis" which is treated as a Monster Card destroyed neither by battle nor by card effects while "Imperial Custom" is active?
  7. Konami FAQ: If "Stygian Street Patrol" destroys a monster like a Token Monster by battle, then can you inflict damage to your opponent's Life Points?
  8. a b Konami FAQ: Does the ATK of "Elemental Hero Neos Knight" increase if something like a Token Monster was used as a Fusion Material?
  9. Konami FAQ: Can you remove from play a Token Monster or "Embodiment of Apophis" as an activation cost for "Unibird"?
  10. Konami FAQ: Does the effect of "Caius the Shadow Monarch" inflict damage when it removes a Monster Token/"Zoma the Spirit"/monster equipped to "Relinquished"?
  11. Konami FAQ: If "Zoma the Spirit" or a Token Monster is returned to the Deck by the effect of "Kasha", then what is the ATK of "Kasha"?
  12. Konami FAQ: [Basic Rules] Can a Token Monster or "Embodiment of Apophis" be used as a Synchro Material Monster?
  13. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #22590
  14. YGOrganization
  15. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #23419
  16. YGOrganization
  17. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #13180
  18. YGOrganization
  19. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #23545
  20. YGOrganization
  21. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #23670
  22. YGOrganization
  23. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #23673
  24. YGOrganization
  25. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #23788
  26. YGOrganization
  27. Konami FAQ: If an "Embodiment of Apophis" treated as a monster, a monster treated as an Equip Card, or a Token Monster is banished, is a Chaos Counter placed on "Chaos Zone"?
  28. Konami OCG FAQ: If "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" battles with and banishes a Token or "Embodiment of Apophis", then do they return to the field at the end of the Battle Phase?
  29. Konami OCG FAQ: Can "Embodiment of Apophis" be returned to the hand as an activation cost for "Genex Ally Birdman"?
  30. a b Konami OCG FAQ: On a turn when the effect of Heat Wave is applied, can you activate Scapegoat, Zoma the Spirit, or Embodiment of Apophis?
  31. Konami OCG FAQ: Effect Monster > Influence Dragon
  32. Konami OCG Card Database: Can you activate "Machine Duplication" by targeting a "Stronghold the Moving Fortress" that is treated as a Monster Card?
  33. Konami OCG FAQ: Effect Monster > Maxx "C"
  34. Konami OCG FAQ: Effect Monster > Shark Sucker
  35. a b Konami OCG FAQ: If you Tribute monsters like "Zoma the Spirit" or a Token Monster to Summon "The Tyrant Neptune", then do its ATK and DEF increase?
  36. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  37. a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z aa ab UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E] [EMBODIMENT OF APOPHIS]
  38. a b c d e f g h i UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O] [METAL REFLECT SLIME]
  39. a b c UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T] [SKULL ZOMA]