Card Rulings:Axe of Despair

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

OCG Rulings

  • Tributing a monster on your side of the field is a cost of the effect that returns this card to the Deck.[1]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Junk Warrior: When the effect of "Junk Warrior" increases its ATK, its ATK is increased by the current ATK (not original ATK) of all Level 2 or lower monsters on your field, determined when the effect of "Junk Warrior" resolves.[5]
    • Example: If you have a Level 2 or lower monster is equipped with an Equip Spell like "Axe of Despair", then the ATK of "Junk Warrior" is increased based on that monster's changed ATK.[5]

Previously Official Rulings

  • Since "Axe of Despair" activates in the Graveyard, you can Tribute a monster to return it to the top of your Deck even if "Imperial Order" is on the field.

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Cyber Blader: When applying the effect to double this card's ATK, double the total amount. So if you equip "Cyber Blader" with "Axe of Despair", her ATK will become 6200. (2100 + 1000) x 2 = 6200.
  • Fusion Devourer: If this card battles a Fusion Monster that is equipped with "Axe of Despair", etc. that Fusion Monster's ATK will be 0 for Damage Calculation.
  • Gradius' Option: The ATK/DEF of "Gradius' Option" is the same as the current ATK/DEF of the selected "Gradius", not the original ATK/DEF. So if you equip "Axe of Despair" to "Gradius", the ATK of "Gradius' Option" will also increase by 1000 points.
  • Gradius' Option: Equipping "Axe of Despair" to "Gradius' Option" has no purpose. Activating "Reinforcements" targeting "Gradius' Option" serves no purpose. "Luminous Spark" on the field will not change the ATK/DEF of "Gradius' Option". It always has the same ATK/DEF of the selected "Gradius".
  • Pole Position: The opponent has "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" (3000 ATK) and "Pole Position" face-up on the field. I have "Gemini Elf" (1900 ATK), and an "Opticlops" (1800 ATK) equipped with "Axe of Despair"(+1000 ATK; 2800 total) face-up on the field, and a Set "Ring of Destruction". If I activate "Ring of Destruction" to destroy "Blue-Eyes White Dragon", then "Opticlops" will be the highest ATK monster on the field, and cause an infinite loop (it is the highest, it isn't, it is, it isn't, etc.). Therefore, I cannot target "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" with "Ring of Destruction".
  • Wild Nature's Release: If "Ojama Yellow" is equipped with "Axe of Despair" (1000 ATK, 1000 DEF), if "Wild Nature's Release" is activated then it increases "Ojama Yellow" to 2000 ATK, 1000 DEF. If "Axe of Despair" is then destroyed, "Ojama Yellow" remains 2000 ATK, 1000 DEF.

Judge List Rulings

  • Megamorph: When an effect modifies, doubles, or halves the original ATK of a monster, you must apply this first. After calculating this value (the monster's new current ATK), any gains or losses (increases or decreases) to the monster's ATK are applied to the calculated value.
  • Submarineroid: "Submarineroid" does not assume new "original ATK" values. Its original ATK does not modify after the battle is concluded. It does not become a "new original ATK" or anything of that sort. It's effect means to explain that the battle damage inflicted will be equal to whatever "Submarineroid's" original ATK is. If equipped with "Axe of Despair", it will only inflict 800 damage, and "Submarineroid's" ATK remains at 1800.[9]


  1. Konami Judge Program Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.


  1. Konami OCG Card Database: Axe of Despair
  2. Konami FAQ: Are the "destroy all Spell/Trap Cards" and "inflict damage" effects of "Fairy Wind" considered to resolve simultaneously?
  3. a b Konami FAQ: For the damage-inflicting effect of "Infernity Doom Dragon", the damage inflicted uses the ATK of the destroyed monster at what time?
  4. a b Konami FAQ: If an ATK is increased by an Equip Spell Card, then how does "Inverse Universe" change the ATK?
  5. a b Konami FAQ: Does the increase to ATK by the effect of "Junk Warrior" also included changes caused by other cards' effects?
  6. Konami FAQ: Does the ATK-increasing effect of "Majestic Red Dragon" also include modifications from Equip Cards?
  7. UDE Judge List: Limiter Removal Clarification
  8. UDE Judge List: Megamorph problems!
  9. UDE Judge List: submarineroid with stacking
  10. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  14. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  15. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  16. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  17. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  18. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]