Card Rulings:Bait Doll

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

Q&A Rulings

  • Q: Q
    I activate the effect of "Trickstar Light Stage" that targets a Set card in my opponent's Spell & Trap Zone and prevents my opponent from activating it until the End Phase. During the same turn, what happens if I activate "Bait Doll" and target that Set card?
A: If "Bait Doll" is activated and targets a Set card that the effect of "Trickstar Light Stage" was applied to, reveal the targeted card as usual. If it is not a Trap Card, return it to its original state and shuffle "Bait Doll" into your Deck after it finishes resolving. If the targeted card is a Trap Card, it cannot be activated due to the effect of "Trickstar Light Stage", so the timing is incorrect and it will be destroyed by the effect of "Bait Doll". (Once again, "Bait Doll" is shuffled into your Deck after it finishes resolving.)[1]

TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Previously Official Rulings

  • You cannot chain to a Trap Card that was forced to activate by the effect of "Bait Doll" since an existing Chain is in the middle of resolving.
  • If "Chain Burst" is active on the field and you use "Bait Doll" to activate the opponent's Trap Card, and its timing is correct, the opponent takes the 1000 points of damage.
  • When "Bait Doll" is activated, "Fake Trap" cannot be activated because there is no guarantee that "Bait Doll" will destroy a Trap Card.
  • If you use this card on a Trap Card that was just Set this turn, the timing is incorrect so the Trap is destroyed. If you use this card and activate a Trap Card with a cost, and that Trap Card's activation timing is correct, its owner must pay all possible costs. If they cannot pay the costs, the Trap Card is negated and destroyed.
  • If "Jinzo" is face-up on the field and the effect of "Bait Doll" forces the activation of a Normal or Counter Trap Card, that Trap Card's effect is negated and the Trap Card is destroyed. If a Continuous Trap Card is forced to activate by the effect of "Bait Doll" it will remain face-up on the field meaninglessly until "Jinzo" is destroyed.

Mentions in Other Rulings


References

  1. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #6115
  2. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  3. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  4. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  5. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  11. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS