Card Rulings:Castle Link

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

  • This card's effect that moves a targeted Link Monster to a Main Monster Zone it points to on its controller's field starts a Chain. (It targets 1 Link Monster you or your opponent controls.)[1]
  • You can only move the targeted monster to an unused Main Monster Zone. (You cannot target a Link Monster if all the Main Monster Zones it points to are used.)[1]
  • This card's effect that switches the locations of 2 Link Monsters in your or your opponent's Main Monster Zones starts a Chain. (It does not target.)[1]
  • When this effect resolves, you choose 2 Link Monsters in your or your opponent's Main Monster Zones, and switch their locations. (They are not moved to another unused zone(s).)[1]

Q&A Rulings

  • Q: When activating the effect of "Castle Link" that targets 1 Link Monster on the field, can I target a "Imduk the World Chalice Dragon" that is in the Main Monster Zone directly underneath an Extra Monster Zone?
A: The effect of "Castle Link" moves 1 targeted Link Monster to a Main Monster Zone it point to. (It cannot be moved to an Extra Monster Zone.) Therefore, in this scenario, since "Imduk the World Chalice Dragon" does not have any Link Arrows pointing to a Main Monster Zone, it cannot be targeted with the effect of "Castle Link".[2]
  • Q: I activate the first effect of "Castle Link", targeting 1 "Honeybot" in my opponent's Main Monster Zone. If I also chain "Ojama Trio", and Special Summon "Ojama Tokens" to the Main Monster Zones "Honeybot" points to, how does the effect of "Castle Link" resolve?
A: The effect of "Castle Link" is not applied if all of the Main Monster Zones the targeted Link Monster points to are occupied when it resolves. (In this scenario, "Honeybot" remains face-up on the field.)[3]
  • Q: I activate the first effect of "Castle Link", targeting 1 "Honeybot" in my Main Monster Zone. If my opponent chains "Enemy Controller", and takes control of my "Honeybot", how does the effect of "Castle Link" resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of "Castle Link", if control of the targeted Link Monster is changed by an "Enemy Controller" that was chained to the effect, the effect of "Castle Link" resolves normally. In this scenario, after "Honeybot" changes control, you still move it to an adjacent Main Monster Zone that it points to. (Even if "Honeybot" moves Zones, the effect of "Enemy Controller" does not disappear, so during the End Phase it will return to your Main Monster Zone normally.)[4]
A: In this scenario, since "Ib the World Chalice Priestess" is the only Link Monster in your Main Monster Zone when the effect of "Castle Link" resolves, the effect cannot be applied. ("Ib the World Chalice Priestess" remains where it is in its Main Monster Zone.) At this time, if there are 2 Link Monsters in your opponent's Main Monster Zones, the effect still applies and switches them.[5]
  • Q: "Ib the World Chalice Priestess" and "Imduk the World Chalice Dragon" are face-up in my Main Monster Zones. In this situation, I activate the second effect of "Castle Link" that switches the Zones of 2 Link Monsters on the same side of the field. If my opponent chains "Forbidden Lance" and makes "Imduk the World Chalice Dragon" unaffected by Spell effects, how does the effect of "Castle Link" resolve?
A: In this scenario, since there are 2 Link Monsters in the Main Monster Zones, those are the 2 that are chosen when the effect of "Castle Link" resolves. However, since "Imduk the World Chalice Dragon" is unaffected by Spell effects, you cannot move it to another Zone. (Both "Ib the World Chalice Priestess" and "Imduk the World Chalice Dragon" remain where they are in their Main Monster Zones.)[6]
A: Even if 2 monsters equipped with Equip Spell Cards switch Zones with the effect of "Castle Link", the Equip Spell Cards remain equipped normally. (In this scenario, "Gaia Saber, the Lightning Saber" will still be equipped with "United We Stand", and "Missus Radiant" will still be equipped with "Mage Power".)[7]

References