Card Rulings:Creature Swap
Mentions in Other Rulings
- D.D. Sprite: If you remove from play an opponent’s monster that you control due to Creature Swap, it is returned to your side of the field during the next Standby Phase and you retain control of it.
Previously Official Rulings
These TCG rulings were issued by Upper Deck Entertainment and have since been declared unofficial by Konami. They were previously considered official and can still be correct, as long as they follow the official gameplay rules, or unless Konami has issued a ruling that says otherwise. References: 
- The effect does not target. The monster whose control will be switched are chosen at resolution.
- Each player selects which of his monsters will switch control.
- At the time of a monster changing control due to a card effect like "Brain Control" or "Creature Swap, the Turn Player may use Priority to activate a Spell Speed 2+ effect. Also, Trigger Effects that activate upon a monster changing control will activate. The Turn Player cannot use Priority to Tribute that monster for a Tribute Summon or Tribute Set, nor to activate an Ignition Effect, nor to activate a Normal Spell Card.
- While "Rivalry of Warlords" is active, when "Creature Swap" is activated, players may exchange monsters of different Types. After a monster switches control, if its new controller also controls a monster of a different Type, then the monster which switched control is sent to the Graveyard. However, if you only control one monster after the monsters switch control, then you only control one Type of monster, so the monster whose control you gained is not sent to the Graveyard.
- The effect of "Creature Swap" does not target the monsters that change control. If "Creature Swap" is activated and you select to change control of a face-up "Spirit Reaper", then "Spirit Reaper" is not destroyed.
Mentions in Other Rulings
- When "Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle" etc is destroyed, the controller can apply the effect. If your "Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle" is controlled by your opponent, your opponent can place it in his Spell & Trap Card Zone as a Continuous Spell Card.
- Drill Warrior: The effect of "Drill Warrior" which removes it from play and the effect which Special Summons it are not treated as the same effect; "Drill Warrior" is not treated as being removed from play temporarily. Thus, if the effect of "Drill Warrior" removes it from play after control of it switches by an effect like "Mark of the Rose" or "Brain Control" or "Creature Swap", then "Drill Warrior" will be Special Summoned to its original owner's side of the field during its original owner's next Standby Phase, and its original owner adds a card from his Graveyard to his hand.
- Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon: If "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" banishes a monster that you own but your opponent controls because of "Creature Swap", then when the monsters return to the field, the monster returns to your opponent's side of the field and remains under your opponent's control.
- Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon: If your opponent controls your "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" because of "Creature Swap" and activates its effect, then when the monsters return to the field, "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" will return to the field of your opponent (the player who controlled it when it was banished).
- Nitro Unit: When control of a monster equipped with "Nitro Unit" changes with "Change of Heart"/"Snatch Steal"/"Creature Swap"/"Enemy Controller"/"Brain Control"/etc, "Nitro Unit" is destroyed. This is because the correct target for "Nitro Unit" is an opponent's monster.
- Konami Gameplay FAQ: Storm of Ragnarok – Card Rulings (version 1.0)
- Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
- UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
- UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS
- Konami FAQ: Spell Card > Creature Swap
- Konami FAQ: [Priority] At the time of a monster changing control due to a card effect, can the Turn Player activate a Normal Spell Card or Normal Summon a monster?
- Konami FAQ: If "Creature Swap" is activated after "Rivalry of Warlords" was activated, then can monsters switch control?
- Konami FAQ: Is "Spirit Reaper" destroyed if it is exchanged by "Creature Swap"?
- Konami FAQ: When your "Crystal Beast Ruby Carbuncle" is destroyed while controlled by your opponent, can either player place it in his Spell & Trap Card Zone?
- Konami FAQ: If you remove from play your opponent's "Drill Warrior", then can either player add a card to his hand?
- Konami OCG FAQ: How do you resolve it when you activate the effect of "Galaxy-Eyes Photon Dragon" when its original owner battles his own monster?
- Konami FAQ: Is "Nitro Unit" destroyed when control of the equipped monster changes with "Change of Heart"/"Snatch Steal"/etc?