Card Rulings:Cubic Ascension

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

  • This card's effect that Special Summons a "Vijam the Cubic Seed" from your Deck and performs damage calculation is the effect that is applied by activating this card. (It does not target. It can be activated when an opponent's monster declares an attack, either directly or on a monster.)[1]
  • This effect Special Summons "Vijam the Cubic Seed" from your Deck and performs damage calculation. (A replay does not occur from Special Summoning "Vijam the Cubic Seed".)[1]
  • This card's effect that Special Summons a "Vijam the Cubic Seed"(s) from your hand, Deck, or GY starts a Chain and activates in the GY. (It does not target. Banishing this card from your GY is the cost to activate this effect. This effect cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)[1]
  • If you activated the second effect of "Cubic Ascension" while only your opponent had a monster in the Monster Zone, you can choose to apply the part of the effect that Special Summons 2 more copies of "Vijam the Cubic Seed" after Special Summoning the first one.[1]
  • Special Summoning the first "Vijam the Cubic Seed" and Special Summoning up to 2 more copies of "Vijam the Cubic Seed" do not happen simultaneously.[1]

Q&A Rulings

  • Q: When my opponent's monster declares an attack, can I activate 2 copies of "Cubic Ascension" by chaining one to the other?
A: You can activate 2 copies of "Cubic Ascension" in the same Chain when an attack is declared. In that case, the effect of the "Cubic Ascension" that was activated as Chain Link 2 is applied normally, but the effect of the "Cubic Ascension" that was activated as Chain Link 1 only Special Summons "Vijam the Cubic Seed", and finishes resolving.[2][3]
A: In this scenario, your opponent's attacking "Evilswarm Thunderbird" is no longer on the field, so the effect of "Cubic Ascension" Special Summons a "Vijam the Cubic Seed" from your Deck, but it does not become the attack target and damage calculation is not performed. (You do not proceed to the Damage Step.)[4][3]
  • Q: When I activate the second effect of a "Cubic Ascension" from my GY, if my opponent chains the effect of "Maxx "C"", how many cards will be drawn?
A: When resolving the second effect of "Cubic Ascension", after Special Summoning the first "Vijam the Cubic Seed", you can choose whether or not to Special Summon up to 2 more afterward. If you only Special Summon the first "Vijam the Cubic Seed", your opponent will only draw 1 card with the effect of "Maxx "C"". If you Special Summon up to 2 copies of "Vijam the Cubic Seed" after Special Summoning the first one, your opponent will draw a total of 2 cards with the effect of "Maxx "C"".[5][3]

References