Card Rulings:D/D/D Wave High King Caesar

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

  • This card's effect that negates the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or monster effect, then makes another of your "D/D" monsters gain 1800 ATK is a Quick Effect. (Detaching 1 Xyz Material from this card is the cost to activate this effect. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)[1]
  • The part of this card's effect that negates an activation and destroys the card does not target. The effect is activated directly in Chain to the activation of a monster effect or Spell/Trap Card that includes an effect that Special Summons a monster. (It cannot be activated in Chain to the activation of a Spell/Trap effect.)[1]
  • The parts of this card's effect that negates the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or monster effect and can make another of your "D/D" monsters gain 1800 ATK do not happen simultaneously.[1]
  • The part of this card's effect that negates the activation of a Spell/Trap Card or monster effect is mandatory, but you can choose not apply the part that makes another of your "D/D" monsters gain 1800 ATK.[1]
  • This card's effect that adds 1 "Dark Contract" card from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target, and can be activated even during the Damage Step.)[1]

Q&A Rulings

  • Q: When my "D/D/D Wave High King Caesar" attacks and destroys my opponent's "Ancient Gear Howitzer" by battle, the effect of "Ancient Gear Howitzer" that Special Summons an "Ancient Gear" monster from the Deck is activated in the Graveyard. At this time, can I chain the effect of "D/D/D Wave High King Caesar" to negate the activation?
A: As in this scenario, even if a monster effect that includes Special Summoning activates outside of the field, you can chain the effect of "D/D/D Wave High King Caesar". In that case, the activation of the effect is negated, but since "Ancient Gear Howitzer" cannot be destroyed while in the Graveyard, the part of the effect that increases the ATK of "D/D/D Wave High King Caesar" and another "D/D" monster on your field by 1800 cannot be applied.[2]
  • Q: "D/D/D Wave High King Caesar" and "D/D/D Gust High King Alexander" are both face-up on my field. In this situation, when my opponent activates "Monster Reborn", I chain the effect of "D/D/D Wave High King Caesar" that negates the activation. If my opponent further chains "Compulsory Evacuation Device" and returns "D/D/D Gust High King Alexander" to the Extra Deck, how does the effect of "D/D/D Wave High King Caesar" resolve?
A: Even in this scenario, the activation of your opponent's "Monster Reborn" is negated by the effect of "D/D/D Wave High King Caesar", and it is destroyed. However, since there are no other "D/D" monsters on your field at this time, the part of the effect that increases the ATK of "D/D/D Wave High King Caesar" and another "D/D" monster on your field by 1800 cannot be applied.[3]
  • Q: I activate the first effect of "D/D/D Wave High King Caesar", and the ATK of it and a "D/D/D Gust High King Alexander" on my field are increased by 1800. Afterward, if "Skill Drain" is activated during this turn, what happens to the ATK of those monsters?
A: In this scenario, if Skill Drain is activated after the effect of "D/D/D Wave High King Caesar" has resolved, the ATK increase still remains for both monsters until the end of the turn.[4]

References