Card Rulings:Darklord Asmodeus

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

  • The monster effect "Once per turn: You can send 1 Fairy-Type monster from your Deck to the Graveyard" is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target.)[1]
  • The monster effect "When this card you control is destroyed and sent to your Graveyard: Special Summon 1 "Asmo Token" (Fairy-Type/DARK/Level 5/ATK 1800/DEF 1300) and 1 "Deus Token" (Fairy-Type/DARK/Level 3/ATK 1200/DEF 1200). "Asmo Token" cannot be destroyed by card effects. "Deus Token" cannot be destroyed by battle" is a Trigger Effect that is activated when it is sent to the Graveyard. (It does not target. It activates even during the Damage Step.)[1]
  • The "Asmo Token" and "Deus Token" are treated as being Special Summoned at the same time. Also, the Special Summon of the "Asmo Token" and "Deus Token" is treated as the last thing to resolve.[1]
  • Fundamentally, Token Monsters are treated as Normal Monsters that do not have effects. Therefore, even if the effect of "Skill Drain" is applying, the "Asmo Token" Special Summoned by "Darklord Asmodeus" cannot be destroyed by card effects, and the "Deus Token" cannot be destroyed by battle. Furthermore, the effect that prevents the "Asmo Token" and "Deus Token" from being destroyed by battle is the effect of "Darklord Asmodeus".[2]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Darklord Ixchel: "Darklord Asmodeus" is the only face-up monster on the opponent's field. You activate the effect of "Darklord Ixchel", "Darklord Tezcatlipoca", "Darklord Nasten", or "Darklord Amdusc" that copies the effect of a "Darklord" Spell/Trap Card in my Graveyard, targeting "Darklord Enchantment" in your Graveyard. If "Book of Moon" is Chained, and "Darklord Asmodeus" is changed to face-down Defense Position, when resolving the effect of "Darklord Ixchel" etc., the effect becomes that of "Darklord Enchantment", but because there is no longer a face-up monster on the opponent's field, the effect cannot be applied. Even in that case, the targeted "Darklord Enchantment" is returned to the Deck afterward.[4]
  • Goyo Emperor: Because "Darklord Asmodeus" cannot be Special Summoned from the Deck or Graveyard, when "Goyo Emperor" destroys "Darklord Asmodeus" by battle and sends it to the Graveyard, its effect cannot be activated.[6]


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 Konami OCG Card Database: Darklord Asmodeus
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Skill Drain" is active, can a Token Special Summoned by "Darklord Asmodeus" be destroyed by battle or by card effects?
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Darklord Asmodeus" is destroyed while face-down, does the effect which Special Summons the Tokens activate?
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Book of Moon" is activated in Chain to the activation of the effect of "Darklord Ixchel" etc. targeting "Darklord Enchantment" in the Graveyard, if there are no face-up monsters in the opponent's Monster Zones, how does the effect resolve?
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: Can "Monster Rebone" Special Summon a Special Summon Monster that was not Special Summoned by the proper procedure?
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: If "Goyo Emperor" destroys "Darklord Asmodeus" by battle, can its effect be activated?