Card Rulings:Defender of Nephthys

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

  • The effect of this card that Special Summons a Level 4 or lower “Nephthys” monster from your hand is an Ignition Effect. (It does not target.)[1]
  • Destroying a card in your hand and Special Summoning a “Nephthys” monster from your hand happen simultaneously.[1]
  • The effect of this card that destroys a “Nephthys” monster in your Deck during your Standby Phase is a Trigger Effect that activates in the Graveyard. (It does not target.)[1]
  • This effect does not start a Chain when this card is destroyed by a card effect and sent to the Graveyard. The effect activates and starts a Chain during your next Standby Phase after that. (You can activate the effect even if this card was destroyed while it was in your hand or Deck, or destroyed while treated as an Equip Card.)[1]

Q&A Rulings

  • Q: If I only have 1 card in my hand, can I activate the effect of a "Defender of Nephthys" on my field?
A: The effect of "Defender of Nephthys" that destroys a card in your hand and Special Summons a Level 4 or lower "Nephthys" monster from your hand cannot be activated if you only have 1 card in your hand. Also, if you only have 1 card in your hand when resolving the effect of "Defender of Nephthys", the effect will destroy that card and finish resolving.[2]
A: The effect of "Defender of Nephthys" Special Summons a Level 4 or lower "Nephthys" monster from your hand, but you must also destroy a card in your hand. In this scenario, since "Disciple of Nephthys" is the only monster in your hand that can be Special Summoned by the effect of "Defender of Nephthys", you can only destroy either "A Feather of the Phoenix" or "True King Agnimazud, the Vanisher".[3]

References