Card Rulings:Endymion, the Mighty Master of Magic

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

  • This card's Pendulum Effect starts a Chain. (It does not target, and can only be activated during your Main Phase. Removing 6 Spell Counters from your field is the cost to activate this effect.)[1]
  • Special Summoning this card from your Pendulum Zone does not happen simultaneously with destroying cards on the field and placing Spell Counters on this card.[1]
  • Destroying cards on the field and placing Spell Counters on this card happen simultaneously.[1]
  • An "Endymion, the Mighty Master of Magic" in the Pendulum Zone is not a card that you can place Spell Counters on.[1]
  • This card's monster effect that negates the activation of a Spell/Trap or Spell/Trap effect is a Quick Effect. (It does not target. It must be activated by chaining directly to a Spell/Trap's activation or a Spell/Trap effect's activation, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)[1]
  • Returning the card on your field with Spell Counters on it to the hand and negating the activation of a Spell/Trap or Spell/Trap effect does not happen simultaneously with placing Spell Counters on this card.[1]
  • You must apply the part of the effect that returns a card on your field with Spell Counters on it to the hand and negates the activation of a Spell/Trap or Spell/Trap effect, but you can choose not to apply the part of the effect that places Spell Counters on this card.[1]
  • This card's monster effect that prevents it from being destroyed or targeted by your opponent's card effects while it has Spell Counters on it is a Continuous Effect.[1]
  • This card's effect that adds a Normal Spell from your Deck to your hand is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. You can activate this effect optionally at the end of the Damage Step when this card is destroyed by battle.)[1]

Q&A Rulings

A: In this scenario, a "Dark Valkyria" treated as a Normal Monster is not a card that you can place Spell Counters on, and since the only card on your field that can have Spell Counters on it is the Special Summoned "Endymion, the Mighty Master of Magic", you will destroy 1 card on the field with its effect.[2][3]
A: In this scenario, a "Mythical Beast Medusa" in your Pendulum Zone is not a card that you can place Spell Counters on, and since the only cards on your field that can have Spell Counters on them are the Special Summoned "Endymion, the Mighty Master of Magic" and "Magical Citadel of Endymion", you will destroy up to 2 cards on the field.[4][3]
A: In this scenario, although the effects of "Mythical Beast Cerberus" were negated by "Forbidden Chalice", it is still treated as a card with an effect that allows it to have Spell Counters on it. The cards on your field that can have Spell Counters on them are the Special Summoned "Endymion, the Mighty Master of Magic", "Mythical Beast Cerberus", and "Magical Citadel of Endymion", so you will destroy up to 3 cards on the field.[5][3]
A: The effect of "Endymion, the Mighty Master of Magic" can be activated not only when a Spell/Trap Card is activated, but also when a Spell/Trap effect is activated. In this scenario, you can chain the effect of "Endymion, the Mighty Master of Magic" to the effect of your opponent's "Blaze Accelerator Reload" that activates in the GY. When the effect resolves, you return a card with Spell Counters on it to your hand, and the activation of the effect of "Blaze Accelerator Reload" is negated, but since "Blaze Accelerator Reload" cannot be destroyed, you cannot place any Spell Counters on this card.[6][3]
A: You can activate the effect of "Endymion, the Mighty Master of Magic" even if it is the only card on your field with Spell Counters on it. In that case, its effect returns it to the hand and negates the card/effect activation normally, but afterward it is not possible to place Spell Counters on this card.[7][3]
A: When resolving the effect of "Endymion, the Mighty Master of Magic", you can choose a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monster as the card with Spell Counters on it to return to your hand. In that case, the Fusion/Synchro/Xyz/Link Monster returns to the Extra Deck instead of the hand, so the card/effect activation is not negated and you do not place Spell Counters on "Endymion, the Mighty Master of Magic".[8][3]
A: In this scenario, a "Breaker the Magical Warrior" with a Spell Counter on it cannot have any more Spell Counters placed on it, but it is still a card with an effect that allows it to have Spell Counters. The cards on your field that can have Spell Counters on them are the Special Summoned "Endymion, the Mighty Master of Magic", "Breaker the Magical Warrior", and "Magical Citadel of Endymion", so you will destroy 1 to 3 cards on the field.[9][10]

References