Card Rulings:Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

"Burning Abyss" monster Rulings

OCG Rulings

On Special Summoning itself from the hand

  • Q: If you have a card in your Pendulum Zone, can you Special Summon a monster like "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss"?
A: Since Pendulum Monsters in the Pendulum Zone are treated as Spell Cards, even if you control no cards in your Spell & Trap Zone and Field Zone, it is considered that you control a Spell Card. Therefore, if you have an "Archfiend Eccentrick" in your Pendulum Zone, you cannot activate the effect of a monster like "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" and Special Summon it from the hand.[12]
  • Q: If a monster like "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" activates the effect that Special Summons it from the hand, and "Vanity's Emptiness" is activated in a Chain, what happens?
A: If a monster like "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" activates the effect that Special Summons it from the hand, and "Vanity's Emptiness" is activated in a Chain, since you cannot Special Summon monsters, "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" remains in the hand.[13]
  • Q: If you control an "Embodiment of Apophis" treated as a Monster Card, can you Special Summon a monster like "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss"?
A: Since an "Embodiment of Apophis" treated as a Monster Card is still treated as a Trap Card, if you control an "Embodiment of Apophis" treated as a Monster Card, you cannot activate the effect of a monster like "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" and Special Summon it from the hand.[14]

On destroying itself

  • Q: If you control a monster that is not a "Burning Abyss" monster, can you Normal Summon a monster like "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss"?
A: Even if you control a monster that is not a "Burning Abyss" monster like "Tour Guide From the Underworld", you can still Normal Summon a monster like "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss". In that case, "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" is destroyed by its own effect.[15]
  • Q: While you control a monster that is not a "Burning Abyss" monster, if a monster like "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" in face-down Defense Position is flipped face-up by battle, what happens?
A: While you control "Beatrice, Lady of the Eternal", and a face-down Defense Position monster like "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss", if "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" is attacked by an opponent's monster and it is destroyed by battle, its Continuous Effect is not applied, and it is sent to the GY at the end of the Damage Step as usual. However, if "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" is not destroyed by battle, its Continuous Effect is applied, and it is destroyed after damage calculation.[16]
  • Q: If you control a face-down Defense Position monster, what happens to monsters like "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss"?
A: If you control a face-down Defense Position monster, and a face-up monster like "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss", since you control a monster that is not a "Burning Abyss" monster, "Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" is destroyed by its own effect.[17]

On activating its third effect

A: Even if you discard "Graff, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" for your hand size limit during the End Phase, you can still activate its effect. As an example, if you were to Special Summon "Cir, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" by that effect while you have a monster other than a "Burning Abyss" monster on your field, "Cir, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss" will be destroyed immediately by its own effect, but you would not be able to activate its effect that Special Summons a "Burning Abyss" monster from your GY.[18][19]

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Scarm, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss
  2. 2.0 2.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Graff, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss
  3. 3.0 3.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Cir, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss
  4. 4.0 4.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Rubic, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss
  5. 5.0 5.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Alich, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss
  6. 6.0 6.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Calcab, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss
  7. 7.0 7.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Farfa, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss
  8. 8.0 8.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Libic, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss
  9. 9.0 9.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Cagna, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss
  10. 10.0 10.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Draghig, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss
  11. 11.0 11.1 Konami OCG Card Database: Barbar, Malebranche of the Burning Abyss
  12. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #17035
  13. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #17037
  14. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #17038
  15. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #17031
  16. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #17032
  17. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #17033
  18. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #22996
  19. YGOrganization

</noinclude>

References