Card Rulings:Future Fusion

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

TCG Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Out of Date

OCG Rulings

  • The effect that shows 1 Fusion Monster in your Extra Deck and sends the Fusion Materials listed on it from your Main Deck to the Graveyard activates on the field. (It does not target. It always activates during your 1st Standby Phase after the activation of the card "Future Fusion".)[1]
  • You choose a Fusion Monster in your Extra Deck when this effect resolves. (You do not choose it when the card "Future Fusion" is activated.)[1]
  • The effect that Fusion Summons 1 Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck activates on the field. (It does not target at activation, but it continuously targets the Fusion Monster that was Special Summoned by this effect. It always activates during your 2nd Standby Phase after the activation of the card "Future Fusion".)[1]
  • Destroying the targeted monster when this card leaves the field and destroying this card when the targeted monster is destroyed do not start a Chain Link. (They are applied even during the Damage Step.)[1]

Q&A Rulings

  • Q: Can I activate "Future Fusion" if I have no cards in my Extra Deck?
A: You can activate "Future Fusion" even if you have no cards in your Extra Deck. Afterward, if you still have no cards in your Extra Deck when the first effect of "Future Fusion" resolves, you cannot reveal a Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck so the effect is not applied.[2][3]
  • Q: Can I activate "Future Fusion" if all of my Monster Zones are occupied?
A: You can activate the card "Future Fusion" even if all of your Monster Zones are occupied. After that, the effect of "Future Fusion" activates during your 1st Standby Phase after activation, and even if you have no free Monster Zones when it resolves, the Fusion Material Monsters are sent from your Deck to the Graveyard as usual. When the effect of "Future Fusion" activates during your 2nd Standby Phase after activation, if you have no free Monster Zones when it resolves, you cannot Fusion Summon a Fusion Monster. (The Fusion Monster you showed remains in the Extra Deck.) The Fusion Monster is not Fusion Summoned, but the card "Future Fusion" remains on the field.[4]
A: The effects of "Future Fusion" are not applied if "Future Fusion" is destroyed and is no longer on the field. Therefore, in this case, the effect that Fusion Summons a Fusion Monster is not applied. The monsters that were sent from your Deck to the Graveyard by the effect of "Future Fusion" (in this case, 3 "Cyber Dragon") remain in the Graveyard, but they are not treated as Fusion Materials. Also, since the monster you showed by the effect of "Future Fusion" (in this case, "Cyber End Dragon") is not Special Summoned, it remains in the Extra Deck.[5]
  • Q: Can "Elemental HERO Absolute Zero" be Special Summoned by "Future Fusion"?
A: "Elemental HERO Absolute Zero" etc. can be Special Summoned by the effect of "Future Fusion". Also, if "King of the Swamp" is used, it can be sent to the GY as the WATER monster, but it cannot be sent to the GY as the "HERO" monster using the effect that says "You can substitute this card for any 1 Fusion Material Monster".[6]
  • Q: Can "Future Fusion" be activated during the same turn that "Pot of Duality" etc. was activated?
A: "Pot of Duality", "Parallel World Fusion", etc. can be activated during a turn in which "Future Fusion" was activated. Also, during a turn in which "Pot of Duality" etc. was activated, you can also activate "Future Fusion". Furthermore, during the turn in which you Special Summoned a monster with the effect of "Future Fusion" during your second Standby Phase, "Parallel World Fusion" etc. cannot be activated.[7]
  • Q: Can "Naturia Exterio" by Special Summoned by "Future Fusion"?
A: "Future Fusion" cannot Special Summon a Fusion Monster that lists a Synchro Monster or a Fusion Monster as a Fusion Material. Thus, "Naturia Exterio" cannot be Special Summoned by "Future Fusion". Furthermore, when you activate "Future Fusion", you cannot choose "Naturia Exterio" as the monster to be Special Summoned.[8]
  • Q: If a Fusion Monster, Ritual Monster, etc. is declared by "Prohibition", can it be Fusion Summoned, Ritual Summoned, etc.?
A: If a Fusion or Ritual Monster's name was declared by "Prohibition" or "Psi-Blocker", it cannot be Fusion or Ritual Summoned. Also, a declared Fusion Monster cannot be used as Fusion Material for a Fusion Summon. Also, a declared monster can be sent to the GY by the effect of Future Fusion.[9]
  • Q: If "Non-Fusion Area" is applying, can "Future Fusion" be activated?
A: Even if "Non-Fusion Area" is face-up on the field and applying its effect, you can still activate the card "Future Fusion". Also, if the effect of "Non-Fusion Area" is applying during the second Standby Phase after activating "Future Fusion", you cannot Special Summon the Fusion Monster. Furthermore, if the effect of "Non-Fusion Area" has stopped applying by the second Standby Phase after the activation of "Future Fusion", you can Special Summon the Fusion Monster.[10]
  • Q: While the effect that prevents the Special Summon of LIGHT and DARK monsters of "Koa'ki Meiru Drago" is applying, can "Future Fusion" be activated?
A: Even if the effect of "Koa'ki Meiru Drago" etc. is applying, you can Special Summon monsters other than LIGHT or DARK monsters with the effect of "Cyber Stein". Also, while the effect of "Koa'ki Meiru Drago" is applying, you can activate "Future Fusion" and send the chosen monsters to the GY. After that, during the Standby Phase, if the Fusion Monster has an Attribute that cannot be Special Summoned because of the effect of "Koa'ki Meiru Drago", the effect to Special Summon the monster is not applied. Furthermore, "Future Fusion" remains on the field meaninglessly as a Continuous Spell Card with no effect.[11]
  • Q: Can "Barbaroid, the Ultimate Battle Machine" by Special Summoned by "Future Fusion"?
A: You can send 5 Machine-Type "roid" monsters from your Deck to the GY, then Special Summon "Barbaroid, the Ultimate Battle Machine".[12]
  • Q: Can "Future Fusion" be activated while "Jowgen the Spiritualist" is on the field?
A: Even while "Vanity's Fiend" or "Jowgen the Spiritualist" is face-up on the field, you can activate the card "Future Fusion" and send cards from your Deck to the GY. Also, during the second Standby Phase after the activation of "Future Fusion", if "Vanity's Fiend" etc. is face-up on the field, you cannot Special Summon the Fusion Monster. Furthermore, "Future Fusion" remains on the field meaninglessly as a Continuous Spell Card with no effect.[13]
  • Q: After activating "Future Fusion", if you skip with "Solomon's Lawbook", then can you Special Summon the Fusion Monster?
A: After activating "Future Fusion", if your second Standby Phase is skipped by "Solomon's Lawbook", then you cannot Special Summon the Fusion Monster during a subsequent Standby Phase.[14]
  • Q: Can the effect of "Solemn Warning" be activated in Chain to the activation of "Future Fusion"?
A: The activation of "Future Fusion" does not include an effect to Special Summon a monster, thus you cannot activate "Solemn Warning" in response to it. The effect of "Future Fusion" during the 2nd Standby Phase includes an effect to Special Summon a monster, but as it is not the activation of a Spell Card, you cannot activate "Solemn Warning" either.[15]
  • Q: If "Future Fusion" has left the field by the second Standby Phase after it was activated, can you Special Summon the Fusion Monster?
A: Because "Future Fusion" is a Continuous Spell Card, if it is not on the field its effect is not applied. Therefore, if "Future Fusion" has left the field by the second Standby Phase after it was activated, you cannot Special Summon the Fusion Monster.[16]

Previously Official Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings


Notes

  1. The latest print of "Future Fusion" has Problem-Solving Card Text that states that its effect to send monsters to the GY is activated during the 1st Standby Phase after it is activated, not when the card itself is activated. This difference is due to a major change in the functionality of "Future Fusion".
  2. The latest print of "Future Fusion" has Problem-Solving Card Text that states that its effect to send monsters to the GY is activated during the 1st Standby Phase after it is activated, not when the card itself is activated. Since the card has no activation requirements, the card "Future Fusion" can be activated regardless of whether its Trigger-like Effects can completely apply their effects. Since the effect to show a Fusion Monster and send monsters from your Extra Deck to the GY is mandatory, it will activate regardless of whether the appropriate monsters are in the Extra Deck and Main Deck (although it may resolve without effect). This difference is due to a major change in the functionality of "Future Fusion".
  3. The latest print of "Future Fusion" has Problem-Solving Card Text that indicates that it has no effect that activates when the card is activated, so "Royal Oppression" cannot be activated in chain. This difference is due to a major change in the functionality of "Future Fusion".
  4. The latest print of "Future Fusion" has Problem-Solving Card Text that indicates that it has no effect that activates when the card is activated and no activation requirements, so it can activated regardless of the player's ability to Special Summon. This difference is due to a major change in the functionality of "Future Fusion".

References