Card Rulings:Gemini monster

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

The following rulings apply to all Gemini monsters:

OCG Rulings

On Being Treated as a Normal Monster

On Gemini Summoning

  • A Gemini monster does not leave the field when you Summon it again. All Equip Cards will remain equipped to the Gemini monster after it is summoned to be treated as an Effect Monster. Effects such as "Premature Burial"'s destruction effect will still apply if "Premature Burial" is destroyed, even if the monster has been summoned to be treated as an Effect Monster.[26]
  • When a high-level Gemini monster is Summoned again, you do not have to offer Tributes again for the Normal Summon.[27]
  • Normal Summoning a Gemini monster to have it treated as an Effect Monster is not a different type of Summon rule. It is an act where you Normal Summon the monster once again when it's face-up on the field.[28]
  • Since it is a Normal Summon, you can activate cards like "Trap Hole" when a Gemini monster is Summoned again.[28]

On Negating the "Normal Monster" Effect

On "Remembering" Information After the Gemini Summon

On the Gained Effect

  • If a Gemini monster activates an effect (like "Doom Shaman" activating his effect to Special Summon a monster) and the Gemini monster is removed from the field or flipped face-down, then the effect is not negated (unless the effect specifically requires the Gemini monster to remain face-up on the field).[44]
  • When an Effect Gemini monster is flipped face-down, it is treated as a Normal Monster when it is flipped face-up. You must Gemini Summon it again to get the effect.[45]

TCG Rulings

Konami Rulings

Mentions in Other Rulings

Upper Deck Entertainment Rulings

  • Also note that when a card’s effect refers to Gemini monsters (without quotes), it does NOT mean cards with “Gemini” in the card name, such as “Gemini Elf” or “Gemini Summoner”.[49]
Judge List Rulings
  • "Pulling the Rug" cannot be used to negate the second Normal Summon of a Gemini Monster, since the it does not begin a Chain.[52]
Mentions in Other Rulings
  • Black Garden: If you have a Gemini Monster on the field and you Normal Summon it to change it into an Effect Monster, "Black Garden's" first effect activates. It will halve the Gemini Monster's ATK and Special Summon a "Rose Token" onto your opponent's side of the field. If the Gemini Monster's ATK had already been halved by "Black Garden" when it was previously Normal or Special Summoned, it is halved again.
Out of Date


  1. According to Konami's new Fast Effect Timing rulings for the TCG a player cannot activate the Ignition Effect of an Effect Monster after the successful Summon of their monster, which makes that Ruling invalid.


  1. a b c Konami OCG Card Database: Elemental HERO Neos Alius
  2. a b c Konami OCG Card Database: Red-Eyes Black Flare Dragon
  3. a b c Konami OCG Card Database: Red-Eyes Archfiend of Lightning
  4. Konami FAQ: When an Effect Gemini monster is sent to the Graveyard, is it still treated as an Effect Monster?
  5. Konami FAQ: Can you Equip "Amulet of Ambition" to a Normal Gemini monster?
  6. Konami FAQ: When a Gemini monster is on the field and "Ceasefire" is activated, how much damage do you inflict?
  7. Konami FAQ: Can "Fiendish Chain" be activated by targeting a Gemini monster which is being treated as a Normal Monster?
  8. Konami FAQ: What is "Hundred Eyes Dragon" treated as when a Toon Monster or a Synchro Monster, etc, is selected?
  9. Konami FAQ: Can "Majestic Star Dragon" activate a negated Gemini monster's effect which is listed by the "●"?
  10. Konami FAQ: When "Neo-Spacian Dark Panther" targets a Gemini monster, what happens?
  11. Konami FAQ: Can "Orichalcos Shunoros" be Special Summoned when a Gemini monster being treated as a Normal Monster is destroyed by battle?
  12. Konami OCG FAQ: Can you Xyz Summon "Thunder End Dragon" by using Gemini monsters treated as Normal Monsters as Materials?
  13. Konami OCG Card Database: Aquarian Alessa
  14. Konami OCG Card Database: Blazewing Butterfly
  15. Konami OCG Card Database: Dawnbreak Gardna
  16. Konami OCG Card Database: Evocator Chevalier
  17. Konami OCG Card Database: Future Samurai
  18. Konami OCG Card Database: Gemini Soldier
  19. Konami OCG Card Database: Goggle Golem
  20. Konami OCG Card Database: Grasschopper
  21. Konami OCG Card Database: Il Blud
  22. Konami OCG Card Database: Lucky Pied Piper
  23. Konami OCG Card Database: Phantom Dragonray Bronto
  24. Konami OCG Card Database: Phoenix Gearfried
  25. Konami OCG Card Database: Shadow Delver
  26. Konami FAQ: When a Gemini monster is Summoned again, does it leave the field?
  27. [1]: Page 167
  28. a b c Konami FAQ: Please explain the details of the Gemini monsters' effect which Normal Summons it again.
  29. Konami FAQ: Can the Gemini Summon of a Gemini monster be negated with "Horn of Heaven" or "Solemn Judgment"?
  30. Konami FAQ: After a Gemini monster is Summoned again, can you change its Battle Position?
  31. Konami FAQ: Can an Effect Gemini monster be Summoned again?
  32. Konami FAQ: Can a Gemini monster be Normal Summoned if it already has its effect?
  33. Konami OCG Card Database: While the effect of "Heat Wave" is being applied, can you Normal Summon a Gemini monster that is already on the field?
  34. Konami FAQ: Can you Gemini Summon a Gemini monster when an effect makes it impossible to Normal Summon?
  35. Konami FAQ: With "Ultimate Offering"' effect, can you Gemini Summon a Gemini monster?
  36. Konami FAQ: When "Dark Ruler Ha Des" destroys a Gemini monster, is it treated as a Normal Monster while in the Graveyard?
  37. Konami FAQ: Can you Normal Summon a Gemini monster again if its effect is negated?
  38. Konami FAQ: Is the effect of a Gemini monster negated by "Skill Drain"?
  39. Konami FAQ: When a Gemini monster which has been Special Summoned by "Call of the Haunted" gains its Effect, is it no longer targetted?
  40. Konami FAQ: Will the effect of "Koa'ki Meiru Tornado" destroy a monster which was Special Summoned and then Normal Summoned a second time?
  41. Konami FAQ: Is the monster targeted by "Natural Tune" still treated as a Tuner Monster when it is no longer a Normal Monster or when it becomes Level 5 or higher?
  42. Konami FAQ: Do you continue to apply the effect of "Secrets of the Gallant" after the targetted Gemini monster becomes an Effect Monster?
  43. Konami FAQ: For a Gemini monster Summoned by "Silent Doom", when it becomes an Effect Monster, can it attack?
  44. Konami FAQ: If you activate the effect of "Doom Shaman" or another Gemini monster, and the Gemini monster is not face-up on the field at resolution, do you apply the effect?
  45. Konami FAQ: When an Effect Gemini monster is flipped face-down, what happens?
  46. Konami FAQ: When a Gemini monster which is an Effect Monster is removed from play, what happens?
  47. Tewart, Kevin (May 20, 2011). "Yu-Gi-Oh! TRADING CARD GAME » Problem-Solving Card Text, Part 1: Reading the Cards of Tomorrow". Yu-Gi-Oh! TRADING CARD GAME STRATEGY SITE!. Retrieved 3 February 2018. Rules posted online will be limited to super-complicated and really weird situations. Imagine going down to a dozen pages of card rules, instead of a thousand. It could happen.
  48. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  49. a b c d e f UDE FAQ: Advanced Game Play [Gemini Monsters]
  50. a b UDE Judges' List: Gemini Monsters and the Gemini Summon/Re-Summon - Crystal Seer
  51. UDE Judges' List: Gemini Monsters - Status while in hand/Deck
  52. UDE Judges' List: Gemini & Pulling the Rug