Card Rulings:Karma Cut

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

  • Discarding 1 card is the cost to activate this card.[1]
  • When resolving this card's effect, banish your opponent's face-up monster. Then, if your opponent has a card in their Graveyard with the same name as the banished card, banish all cards with the same name. (These effect resolutions do not happen at the same time.)[1]

Q&A Rulings

A: You can activate "Karma Cut" by targeting an opponent's "The Prime Monarch" that is treated as a Monster Card. Even in this case, since the effect of "Karma Cut" is applied as usual, if your opponent has a card in their Graveyard with the same name as "The Prime Monarch", all those cards are banished.[2]
A: The effect of "Proto-Cyber Dragon" that makes its name become "Cyber Dragon" is a Continuous Effect that is only applied on the field. If "Proto-Cyber Dragon" is banished by "Karma Cut", it is no longer treated as "Cyber Dragon". Therefore, in this case, "Cyber Dragon" is not banished from your opponent's Graveyard by "Karma Cut", and "Proto-Cyber Dragon" is banished from your opponent's Graveyard.[3]
A: Even in this case, your opponent can activate "Karma Cut". Since the effect of "Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer" is being applied, cards with the same name cannot be banished from the Graveyard by "Karma Cut", and only the monster on the field that was targeted by "Karma Cut" is banished. If "Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer" is targeted by "Karma Cut", "Kycoo the Ghost Destroyer" is banished, and cards with the same name are also banished from the Graveyard.[4]

Previously Official Rulings


References

  1. a b c "Karma Cut". Konami OCG Card Database. 2022-04-01.
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #7937 2017-03-24
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #12445 2017-03-24
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #2 2017-03-24
  5. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  12. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  13. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  14. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS