Card Rulings:Magicians' Combination

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

  • You can activate "Magicians' Combination" at any time except during the Damage Step. (You can activate only the card, or you can activate its effect as part of the same Chain Link.)[1]
  • This card's effect that Special Summons a "Dark Magician" or "Dark Magician Girl" and negates an activated effect starts a Chain. (It does not target. Tributing 1 "Dark Magician" or "Dark Magician Girl" in your Monster Zone is the cost to activate this effect. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)[1]
  • Special Summoning a "Dark Magician" or "Dark Magician Girl" from your hand or GY and negating the activated effect happen simultaneously.[1]
  • This card's effect that destroys a card on the field starts a Chain and activates in the GY. (It does not target, and can be activated during the Damage Step.)[1]

Q&A Rulings

A: The effect of "Magicians' Combination" Special Summons a monster with a different name than the Tributed monster. In this scenario, since "Magician of Dark Illusion" was treated as "Dark Magician", the effect of "Magicians' Combination" must Special Summon a "Dark Magician Girl". (In this case, if you do not have a "Dark Magician Girl" to Special Summon, you cannot activate the effect of "Magicians' Combination" by Tributing "Magician of Dark Illusion".)[2][3]

References