Card Rulings:Prohibition

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

  • The effect "Cards with that name, and their effects, cannot be used. Cards already on the field are not affected (including face-down cards)" does not start a Chain Link.[1]
  • If the declared card is a Spell/Trap Card, that Spell/Trap Card cannot be activated or Set, and its effects cannot be activated. (However, this effect is not applied to cards that were on the field before the application of the effect of "Prohibition".)

Q&A Rulings

A: A Token Monster cannot be declared by the effect of "Prohibition" or "Psi-Blocker". Therefore, you cannot declare "Emissary of Darkness Token" with the effect of "Prohibition" or "Psi-Blocker".[2]
A: A monster whose name was declared by "Prohibition" cannot be placed on the field by another card effect such as "Monster Reborn".[3]

Versus specific cards

A: "A Legendary Ocean" is always treated as "Umi". Therefore, "A Legendary Ocean" cannot be declared with "Prohibition" and you must declare "Umi". If "Umi" is declared with "Prohibition", "A Legendary Ocean" cannot be activated.[4]
A: When you Special Summon a Synchro Monster by the effect of "Blackwing - Vayu the Emblem of Honor", the banished monster is not treated as a Synchro Material Monster. Therefore, a "Blackwing - Sirocco the Dawn" that was declared by "Prohibition" can be targeted by the effect of "Blackwing - Vayu the Emblem of Honor". The targeted monster is banished as usual and 1 "Blackwing" Synchro Monster whose Level equals the total Levels of the banished monsters is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck.[5]
A: A "Fire Formation - Tensu" that was declared by "Prohibition" cannot be Set by the effect of "Brotherhood of the Fire Fist - Hawk".[6]
A: When "Cyberdark Impact!" resolves, "Cyberdark Horn", "Cyberdark Edge", and "Cyberdark Keel" are shuffled into the Deck from your hand, field, or GY as materials for the Fusion Summon. Therefore, in this scenario, if you do not have a "Cyberdark Horn" that was already on your field before the effect of "Prohibition" started applying, "Cyberdark Horn" cannot be used as Fusion Material, so you cannot activate "Cyberdark Impact!".[7]
A: If the effect of "Prohibition" is applying during the next Standby Phase, the effect of "Destiny HERO - Destroyer Phoenix Enforcer" will not Special Summon a "Destiny HERO" monster from the GY.[8][9]
A: If "Prohibition" declares "D.D. Scout Plane", the effect of "D.D. Scout Plane" will not activate during the End Phase if "D.D. Scout Plane" is banished from the hand, Deck, or GY.[10]
A: If an "Evilswarm Thunderbird" that was on the field before the application of the effect of "Prohibition" is banished by its own effect, and during the next Standby Phase the effect of "Prohibition" is applying, "Evilswarm Thunderbird" cannot return to the field and is sent to the GY. Also, if "Prohibition" declares "Evilswarm Thunderbird" while it is banished by its own effect, and during the next Standby Phase the effect of "Prohibition" is applying, "Evilswarm Thunderbird" cannot return to the field and is sent to the GY.[11]
A: If a player completes "Exodia the Forbidden One" while "Prohibition" is active and declaring "Exodia the Forbidden One", then that player still wins the Duel.[12]
A: "Future Fusion" can be activated even if the name of a Fusion Monster or Fusion Material was declared by the effect of "Prohibition".
  • If "Prohibition" declared the name of a Fusion Monster and its effect is applying, the effect "During your 1st Standby Phase after this card's activation" of "Future Fusion" activates and resolves as usual. Then, if the effect of "Prohibition" is applying, the effect "During your 2nd Standby Phase after this card's activation" activates, but the Fusion Summon is not performed when the effect resolves.
  • If "Prohibition" declared the name of a Fusion Material and its effect is applying, the effect "During your 1st Standby Phase after this card's activation" of "Future Fusion" activates and resolves as usual. (A declared monster can be sent to the GY.) Then, even if the effect of "Prohibition" is applying, the effect "During your 2nd Standby Phase after this card's activation" activates and the Fusion Summon is performed as usual when the effect resolves.[13]
A: Returning "Gladiator Beast Bestiari" to the Deck to Special Summon "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus" is considered "playing" ("using") "Gladiator Beast Bestiari". Therefore, if "Psi-Blocker" declares "Gladiator Beast Bestiari", then you cannot return "Gladiator Beast Bestiari" to the Deck to Special Summon "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus".[14]
A: If "Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World" is declared for "Prohibition" and cannot be played, then you can still return it to the hand for the Summoning procedure of "Grapha, Dragon Lord of Dark World".[15]
A: A "Hamon, Lord of Striking Thunder" that was declared by "Prohibition" cannot be Special Summoned. Therefore, it cannot be Special Summoned by sending 3 face-up Continuous Spell Cards to the GY, including "Prohibition".[16]
  • Q: Can a monster in the hand or field that was declared by "Prohibition" be treated as Xyz Material by the effect of "Hazy Pillar"?
A: While the effect of "Prohibition" is applying, a monster in the hand whose name was declared by "Prohibition" cannot be treated as Xyz Material by the effect of "Hazy Pillar". Note that even if a monster was declared by "Prohibition", if that monster was already on the field, the effect of "Hazy Pillar" can treat it as Xyz Material.[17]
A: If "Prohibition" has declared "Holactie the Creator of Light", then "Holactie the Creator of Light" cannot be used. Therefore, "Holactie the Creator of Light" cannot be Special Summoned from the hand by Tributing "Obelisk the Tormentor", "Slifer the Sky Dragon" and "The Winged Dragon of Ra".[18]
A: If "Prohibition" has declared "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru", the effect of "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru" that is activated from the GY cannot be activated. Whether "Iron Core of Koa'ki Meiru" is sent to the GY before or after being declared by "Prohibition" makes no difference.[19]
  • Q: When activating "Psi-Blocker" and declaring "Jinzo", is its effect still applied?
A: If "Jinzo" is declared by the effect of "Psi-Blocker", the Continuous Effect of "Jinzo" is no longer applied.[20]
A: Since the effect of "Lord of the Heavenly Prison" already resolved, it will remain revealed in your hand even if the effects of "Prohibition" are applied, and the part of the effect that prevents Set cards on the field from being destroyed by card effects will continue applying. However, if a Set Spell/Trap is activated in this situation, the second effect of "Lord of the Heavenly Prison" cannot be activated.[21][22]
  • Q: I activate the effect of "Maxx "C"" from my hand, and its effect is currently applying. In that situation, my opponent activates "Prohibition" and declares "Maxx "C"". In this case, do I draw when my opponent Special Summons a monster?
A: Even in that case, the effect of "Maxx "C"" has already been applied, so if your opponent Special Summons a monster that turn, you must draw.[23][24]
A: If "Prohibition" declares "Necro Gardna", then you cannot activate the effect of "Necro Gardna". Whether "Necro Gardna" is sent to the GY before or after being declared by "Prohibition" makes no difference. Also, if the effect of "Necro Gardna" is activated during the Main Phase, and afterwards is declared by "Prohibition", the effect that negates the next attack during the Battle Phase is applied as usual.[25]
A: After the effect of "PSY-Framelord Zeta" is activated, even if either of the banished monsters is declared by "Prohibition", the effect still resolves as usual during your next Standby Phase. The monster that was not declared by "Prohibition" is returned to the field, and the monster that was declared by "Prohibition" cannot be returned to the field and is placed in the GY.[26]
A: If "Prohibition" declares "The Mask of Remnants", and "Masked Beast Des Gardius" is sent from the field to the GY, the effect of "Masked Beast Des Gardius" is still activated. However, since "Prohibition" declared "The Mask of Remnants", "The Mask of Remnants" cannot be placed on the field. (The effect of "Masked Beast Des Gardius" is not applied, and "The Mask of Remnants" remains in the Deck.)[27]
A: While the effect of "Prohibition" is applying, a Spell/Trap Card in the Deck whose name was declared by "Prohibition" cannot be placed in the Spell & Trap Zone by the effect of "The Weather Painter Snow".[28]
A: When "Vampire Takeover" resolves, "Vampire Kingdom" is activated. Therefore, if "Vampire Kingdom" is declared by "Prohibition", "Vampire Takeover" cannot be activated.[29]
  • Q: Can a monster in the Deck that was declared by "Prohibition" be treated as an Xyz Material by the effect of "Zoodiac Combo"?
A: While the effect of "Prohibition" is applying, a monster in the Deck whose name was declared "Prohibition" cannot be treated as Xyz Material by the effect of "Zoodiac Combo".[30]

TCG Rulings

Judge Program Forum Rulings

  • In place of declaring a FULL card name, a precise description of a card's stats, appearance, and/or effects, is considered acceptable so long as both players are in clear agreement over which card is being described.
    • Saying "Dekoichi" instead of "Dekoichi the Battlechanted Locomotive" is acceptable as long as there isn't another card with the name "Dekoichi".
    • In the case of a card like "Luster Dragon", since the original printing of "Luster Dragon #2" did not have the #2 by its card name, you should ask the player for additional information. If they say "The Level 6 one" is then enough information provided so that both players know which card it is.[31]

Previously Official Rulings

  • "cannot be used" means that the declared card cannot be placed onto the field from your hand. A declared Monster Card cannot be Summoned or Set from your hand, and any effect it activates while in your hand cannot be activated. A declared Spell or Trap Card cannot be activated or Set from your hand. Every player in the Duel cannot "use" the declared card.
  • The declared card may be used to pay costs. The declared card can be discarded, Tributed, or sent to the GY.
  • A declared Monster Card can be Special Summoned from the Deck, GY, or Removed Zone. If this happens, the Monster Card's effects are not applied, and it cannot attack or change its battle position manually. Any maintainence costs must still be paid.
  • Declared cards on the field before "Prohibition" resolves are unaffected. Declared Monster Cards Set before "Prohibition" resolves can be Flip Summoned. Declared Spell or Trap Cards Set before "Prohibition" resolves can be activated.
  • After declaring a card for "Prohibition", the declared card cannot be changed.
  • If a declared Monster Card is Special Summoned face-down (by "Cyber Jar", etc.), when it is flipped face-up its effects are not applied. If it has a Flip Effect, the Flip Effect does not activate.
  • The Ignition-like effects of a declared Continuous Spell or Trap Card face-up on the field before "Prohibition" resolves can still be activated.
  • If a Monster Card declared by "Prohibition" is Special Summoned face-down and afterwards "Prohibition" is negated, the declared Monster Card can be Flip Summoned and its effects will be applied.
  • If "Prohibition" declares "Sangan" or "Witch of the Black Forest", if the declared card is on the field when "Prohibition" resolves, its effect will activate when it is sent to the GY. If the declared card is Special Summoned after "Prohibition" resolves, it "cannot be used", so its effect will not activate when it is sent to the GY.
  • If "Nimble Momonga" or "Giant Germ" is on the field when declared by "Prohibition", when it is destroyed by battle and sent to the GY its effect activates, but the Special Summoned "Nimble Momonga" or "Giant Germ" "cannot be used", so their effects will not be applied when they are destroyed by battle and sent to the GY.
  • A Level 4 or lower Monster Card declared by "Prohibition" can be Special Summoned by "Cyber Jar", but it "cannot be used" so its effects are not applied and it cannot attack or change its battle position manually.
  • If "Jinzo" is declared by "Prohibition", the effect of a "Jinzo" that is already on the field is still applied. If a "Jinzo" is Special Summoned, it "cannot be used", so the effects of Trap Cards are not negated and Trap Cards can be activated.
  • If the effect of "Prohibition" is being negated, the declared card can be "used". If the declared card is on the field when the effect of "Prohibition" becomes active again the declared card on the field is unaffected.

Mentions in Other Rulings


Notes

  1. Konami Judge Program Rulings are considered unverified, as their source(s) are not publicly viewable. They are not confirmed as applicable to the TCG until they have been officially published by Konami.
  2. The word should be "changed", not "chained".

References

  1. a b Konami OCG Card Database: Prohibition
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #12551
  3. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #13584
  4. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #13585
  5. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #13587
  6. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #13582
  7. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #10465
  8. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #23450
  9. YGOrganization
  10. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #7837
  11. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #13583
  12. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #11356
  13. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #12162
  14. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #13591
  15. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #11583
  16. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #13586
  17. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #7471
  18. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #12170
  19. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #10109
  20. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #12369
  21. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #23403
  22. YGOrganization
  23. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #23435
  24. YGOrganization
  25. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #7843
  26. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #9291
  27. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #14310
  28. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #10758
  29. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #13592
  30. Konami OCG Card Database: Ruling #7967
  31. Konami Judge Program Forum: Question / Mind Crush / Prohibition / ETC. vs Card Names
  32. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  33. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  34. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  35. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  36. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  37. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  38. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  39. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  40. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  41. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS