Card Rulings:Punishment Dragon

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

  • The part of this card's text, that states it cannot be Normal Summoned or Set, and must be Special Summoned from the hand by possessing 4 or more banished "Lightsworn" monsters with different names, is not considered to be an effect. It is the Summoning procedure of a Special Summon monster. (Special Summoning this way does not start a Chain.)[1]
  • This card can only be Special Summoned using the method written in its card text. Even if it was successfully Special Summoned from the hand and is now in the Graveyard, it cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard with "Monster Reborn".[1]
  • This card's effect, that shuffles all cards in the Graveyards and all face-up banished cards into the Decks, except "Lightsworn" monsters, by paying 1000 Life Points, is a Quick Effect. (It does not target. The cost to activate this effect is paying 1000 Life Points. It cannot be activated during the Damage Step.)[1]
  • This card's effect, that sends the top 4 cards of your Deck to the Graveyard if your other "Lightsworn" monster's effect activates, is a Trigger Effect. (It does not target. This is a mandatory effect that activates if an effect of your other "Lightsworn" monster activates. It activates even during the Damage Step.)[1]
  • The previous effect activates even if 3 or fewer cards remain in the Deck. (In that case, all cards in the Deck are sent to the Graveyard.)[1]

Q&A Rulings

  • Q: If all the cards in both Graveyards and that are banished face-up are "Lightsworn" cards, such as "Minerva, Lightsworn Maiden" and Lightsworn Barrier, can I activate the effect of Punishment Dragon that returns those cards to the Deck?
A: If all the cards in both Graveyards and that are banished face-up are "Lightsworn" monsters, you cannot activate the effect of "Punishment Dragon". If all the cards in both Graveyards and that are banished face-up include both "Lightsworn" monsters and "Lightsworn" Spell/Trap Cards, you can still activate the effect of Punishment Dragon. (In that case, only the Spell/Trap Cards are returned to the Deck.)[2]
  • Q: If all the cards in both Graveyards and that are banished face-up are Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, and/or Link Monsters, can I activate the effect of "Punishment Dragon" that returns those cards to the Deck?
A: Even if all the cards in both Graveyards and that are banished face-up are Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, and/or Link Monsters other than "Lightsworn" monsters, you can activate the effect of Punishment Dragon. Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, and Link Monsters are returned to the Extra Deck instead of the Main Deck.[3]

References