Card Rulings:V-LAN Hydra

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

Q&A Rulings

A: In this situation, you start with only 2 Monster Zones available. However, the effect of "V-LAN Hydra" Tributes the targeted monster and then Special Summons "V-LAN Tokens", so if you Tribute a monster in your Main Monster Zone, that Zone can be used for one of the Tokens. In this scenario, since "Trigate Wizard" is Tributed, 3 Main Monster Zones will be available, and the 3 "V-LAN Tokens" are Special Summoned.[1]
  • Q: If "V-LAN Hydra" is in my Extra Monster Zone, and there are 3 "Ojama Tokens" on my field, can I activate the effect of "V-LAN Hydra" by targeting an "Encode Talker" co-linked to it in my Main Monster Zone?
A: In this scenario, since there are 3 "Ojama Tokens" on your field, you less than 3 usable Main Monster Zones. When activating the effect of "V-LAN Hydra", if you target a Link 3 monster, you must be able to Special Summon 3 "V-LAN Tokens". (In this scenario, "Encode Talker" cannot be targeted.)[2]
  • Q: An opponent's "Encode Talker" is in the Extra Monster Zone, and I Link Summon a "V-LAN Hydra" to my Main Monster Zone in the same column. Can I activate the effect of "V-LAN Hydra" targeting my opponent's co-linked "Encode Talker"?
A: You can activate the effect of "V-LAN Hydra" targeting an opponent's co-linked Link 3 or lower monster. When the effect resolves, the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters with the same number of Link Arrows as the targeted monster is applied normally.[3]
A: When resolving the effect of "V-LAN Hydra", if the targeted Link Monster is no longer on the field, it cannot be Tributed, so the part of the effect that Special Summons "V-LAN Tokens" is not applied, also the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters with the same number of Link Arrows as the targeted monster is not applied.[4]
  • Q: I activate the effect of "V-LAN Hydra", targeting a co-linked "Proxy Dragon" on my field. If my opponent chains "Compulsory Evacuation Device" and returns "V-LAN Hydra" to my Extra Deck, how does its effect resolve?
A: Even if "V-LAN Hydra" is not on the field when its own effect resolves, the effect is applied normally. In this case, "Proxy Dragon" is Tributed, 2 "V-LAN Tokens" are Special Summoned, and you cannot Special Summon Link 2 monsters for the rest of this turn.[5]
  • Q: I activate the effect of "V-LAN Hydra", targeting a co-linked "Link Disciple" on my field. If my opponent chains "Mask of Restrict", how does the effect of "V-LAN Hydra" resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect of "V-LAN Hydra" resolves while the effect of "Mask of Restrict" is applying. The targeted monster cannot be Tributed, and the part of the effect that Special Summons a "V-LAN Token" is not applied. Even so, the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters with the same number of Link Arrows as the targeted monster is applied normally.[6]
  • Q: I activate the effect of "V-LAN Hydra", targeting a co-linked "Link Disciple" on my field. If my opponent chains "Vanity's Emptiness", how does the effect of "V-LAN Hydra" resolve?
A: In this scenario, the effect of "V-LAN Hydra" resolves while the effect of "Vanity's Emptiness" is applying. Although the targeted monster is still Tributed, no "V-LAN Token" can be Special Summoned. Even so, the part of the effect that prevents you from Special Summoning monsters with the same number of Link Arrows as the targeted monster is applied normally.[7]
  • Q: I activate the effect of "V-LAN Hydra", targeting a co-linked "Binary Sorceress" on my field. If my opponent chains the effect of "Effect Veiler", targeting "V-LAN Hydra", how does its effect resolve?
A: Tributing the targeted monster, Special Summoning V-LAN Tokens, and not being able to Special Summoning monsters with the same number of Link Arrows as the targeted monster, are all parts of the effect’s resolution. Therefore, if the effects of "V-LAN Hydra" are negated, no part of the effect is applied.[8]
  • Q: I activated the effect of "V-LAN Hydra" this turn, targeting "Trigate Wizard". During the same turn, can I also activate "Recoded Alive"?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of "V-LAN Hydra" was applied to a Link 3 monster, you cannot Special Summon Link 3 monsters for the rest of this turn. This includes not only by Link Summon but also using the effects of other cards, so you cannot activate "Recoded Alive" in this situation.[9]

References