Forum:Effect Veiler Q
|Forums:||Index → Yu-Gi-Oh! Ruling Queries → Effect Veiler Q|
|Please sign your comments with ~~~~. See Help:Signatures and Help:Talk pages for further information.|
|This forum thread has been unedited for 3512 days and is considered archived. Please don't add to the discussion, unless absolutely necessary.|
Effect Veiler can negate Majestic Star Dragon's effect of copying an effect, but it does not negate Majestic Star Draogn or Stardust Dragon's abiltiy of tributing itself to protect a card: tributing itself is a cost, and it's effect negates it when it's sent to the Graveyard. --Drew-Gi-Oh! (talk) 18:53, August 23, 2010 (UTC)
- Can you use Effect Veiler on monsters right when they are summoned such as Mist Wurm or a Monarch? Pyles89 (talk • contribs) 16:21, August 31, 2010 (UTC)
- Err, for the original question - if you use "Effect Veiler" on "Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode" (or friends) and the effect of "Effect Veiler" resolves properly, and afterwards your opponent activates the effect of "Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode" and Tributes it, then the effect of "Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode" will be negated. This is because the effect still activates and resolves on the field, so "Effect Veiler" can negate it. (Although, your opponent could just Chain the effect of "Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode" to negate the effect of "Effect Veiler", but that's not important right now.)
- If your opponent Tributes "Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode" to activate its effect, then you can't Chain the effect of "Effect Veiler" to negate the effect of "Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode". "Stardust Dragon/Assault Mode" is no longer face-up on the field, so "Effect Veiler" can't target it. --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 20:06, August 31, 2010 (UTC)
In regards to the original question, I understand why Veiler cannot be chained to Stardust Dragon / Assault mode, because Veilers target is no longer face-up on the field since stardust going to the Graveyard is a Cost for its effect. However, Does veiler even need to chain its own effect? eg. opponents main phase, before anything has happened, send Veiler to the GY to negate stardusts effect for the turn. couldn't you then after that effect has resolved, play something like smashing ground on stardust? or could stardusts effect still activate? —This unsigned comment was made by 188.8.131.52 (talk • contribs) 22:46, September 4, 2010
- Um...how could you play Smashing Ground during the opponent's Main Phase? The opponent is able to negate Smashing Ground because it is a cost to negate to tribute itself, and then it's no longer affected since it's in the graveyard. --Drew-Gi-Oh! (talk) 23:13, September 4, 2010 (UTC)
- @Anon - Your opponent is the Turn Player, so he gets the first chance to do something upon entering the Main Phase. However, pretty much everything your opponent can do will let you activate "Effect Veiler"'s effect. If your opponent activates an effect, then you can Chain "Effect Veiler"'s effect.
- "Effect Veiler"'s effect doesn't necessarily have to be Chained to anything. If your opponent Normal Summons "Mokey Mokey" or Sets a card, then you can respond to the Summon/Set with "Effect Veiler"'s effect (err, your opponent gets the first chance to respond, but he'll usually do nothing). If your opponent declares that he wants to end the Main Phase, then you can disagree and activate "Effect Veiler"'s effect. And so on.
- Once "Effect Veiler"'s effect has successfully resolved and is affecting "Stardust Dragon", your opponent can still activate "Stardust Dragon"'s effect by Tributing "Stardust Dragon". However, the effect will be negated, so "Stardust Dragon" won't negate anything, and "Stardust Dragon" won't be Special Summoned during the End Phase.
- Also, remember to sign your posts with four tildes ~~~~. It automatically creates a signature for you, kinda like this one: --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 08:56, September 5, 2010 (UTC)