Forum:Forgetting mandatory effects
|Forums:||Index → Yu-Gi-Oh! Ruling Queries → Forgetting mandatory effects|
|Please sign your comments with ~~~~. See Help:Signatures and Help:Talk pages for further information.|
|This forum thread has been unedited for 3592 days and is considered archived. Please don't add to the discussion, unless absolutely necessary.|
What is the appropriate action for when a player forgets to perform a mandatory effect?
EXAMPLE: I control a face-up D.D. Survivor and it gets removed from play. At the end of my turn, I forget to Special Summon it with it's effect.
The people at my local card shop say you just keep going like it didn't happen, but they have a storied history of being wrong about things ("They ruled that the 'Envoys' don't have priority"; "You can activated Rescue Cat's effect during you opponent's turn"). Skullvarnish (talk • contribs) 23:22, August 20, 2010 (UTC)
I suppose you can just activate it's effect, unless the effect changes the game, I.E. Doomcaliber Knight VS. Elemental Hero Flare Wingman. If Wingman has inflicted multiple damage/destroyed by battle, then the player realizes they had Doomcaliber, then I think the player with Doomcaliber will be given a warning (Konami's official tournament legislation, sorry, no source), and the Duel will be considered lost by the owner of Doomcaliber. Then round 2 would begin. But if it's a mandatory effect that doesn't effect the game, I.E. D.D. Survivor, the players would continue as it never happened, or backtracked to that end phase. I'm no judge, but I think that's what would have happened. Kearowind? --Drew-Gi-Oh! (talk) 03:17, August 21, 2010 (UTC)
- I suppose it depends really. Did your opponent guide you through every step of your turn quickly just so they can get on with their turn, or did you just forget? The fault of the person that caused you to forget that effect (even yourself) should be disqualified, technically. Altogether, even though you should be disqualified (if it was your fault), it usually is no big deal (note that I am mainly talking about a friendly duel, a duel at your locals, and somewhat of the duels at Regionals).---Yugioh DED (talk • contribs) 06:21, August 21, 2010 (UTC)
Normally, if you are playing casually or your judge is forgiving, you can redo that phase. However, in serious tournaments you may be given a auto-game loss. It depends on how nice your opponent and judge is. Usually, you can't continue the duel by ignoring the Mandatory Effects. That would just be creating your own rules.--08:44, August 21, 2010 (UTC)