Forum:Great shogun shien

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search


What happens if my opponent activates demise of the land when i special summon great shogun shien?Renz0kuken 04:23, 14 January 2009 (UTC)

You cannot activate Demise of the Land while Great Shogun Shien is special summoned through it's continuous effect. ATEMVEGETA 06:47, 14 January 2009 (UTC)

It will work. "Great Shogun Shien" prevents you from manually activating new cards. You manually activate "Demise of the Land", but the Field Spell Card activates automatically as part of resolving "Demise of the Land". --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 22:24, 14 January 2009 (UTC)

You put me in very deep thinking. Are you sure that it works like that? Is that your opinion or did you find it in a UDE forum or another similar example? Now with a further search I also believe the same thing as you, but I'm still not 100% sure about that. ATEMVEGETA 23:18, 14 January 2009 (UTC)

(Hm, I could have sworn I put "to my knowledge" or something similar in there....)
No, it's my opinion. It's been ruled that you can activate "Demise of the Land" while "Great Shogun Shien" is on the field, but they never explained why. My explanation makes the most sense, to me at least.
I suppose an alternate explanation is that "Demise of the Land" is activating the Field Spell Card, not the player. But the first explanation makes more sense. --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 21:10, 16 January 2009 (UTC)

Ok. Let's leave it as you said. ATEMVEGETA 22:34, 16 January 2009 (UTC)

Interesting. I guess that now my second explanation makes more sense. "Field Barrier" reads,
Also, a new Field Spell Card cannot be activated.
They cannot be activated, period. Players cannot activate them, and other cards cannot activate them.
--Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 21:55, 8 February 2009 (UTC)
Well, it is cleared now. Thanks! ATEMVEGETA (Talk) 22:11, 8 February 2009 (UTC)

Now I'm confused. What happens with Great Shogun Shien and Demise of the Land anyway? Can Demise of the Land be activated, while Shogun is face-up, and it's effect disappears when it resolves, OR Demise of the Land cannot be activated from the beginning because you know that its effect cannot resolve? Blue-Eyes Shining Girl 17:56, 9 February 2009 (UTC)

  • It isn't the same because with Great Shogun Shien vs. Demise of the Land, it is not the player who activates the Field Spell, it is the result of the activation of another spell. Essentially it is a Spell Card that "plays" (activates) Field Spells - the player activates only one Spell - the other one is activated as the result of the first one's resolution. In Field Barrier vs. Last Resort it is stated that new Field Spell Cards cannot be activated. That means that a part of the effect of Last Resort cannot take place, so the whole effect disappears. It would be the same with Demise of the Land vs. Field Barrier, I believe. --Darth Covah (Talk | Contribs) 21:33, 9 February 2009 (UTC)

Basically, in the TCG rulings for Demise of the Land, it says that the activated Field Spell Card does not start a Chain. Also, it says in the OCG ruling that Ancient Forest's effect does not activate when it is activated by the effect of Demise of the Land. SO, I'm presuming this is not a "normal" activation. The player does not activate the Field Spell Card, rather it is "Demise of the Land" that does. This is why Ancient Forest's effect doesn't activate when it is activated by the effect of "Demise", because it says "When you activate this card". "Great Shogun Shien" says that "YOUR OPPONENT can only activate 1 Spell/Trap Card per turn" (not accounting for activations of Spell/Trap Cards by the effects of Spell/Trap/Effect Monsters). Hope this explanation was easily understandable... --UltimateKuriboh (talkcontribs) 21:23, August 1, 2010 (UTC)

Does Shien count as a "six samurai" monster?

His effect states that if he would be destroyed I can destroy "another" six samurai monster. So my question is does he himself count as a six samurai monster even though he doesn't have six samurai in his name?

I also ask this question about shiens chancellor as well since he to has that effect.—This unsigned comment was made by 24.247.0.238 (talkcontribs)

  • On Talk Pages and Forum Pages, sign your posts! You can do that by adding four tildes (~~~~) to the end of your post and it will automatically create a signature for you when you click 'Save page'.
No, Great Shogun Shien is not a Six Samurai Monster. It doesn't have the words in the Japanese name.
It's just a support card. Similar to Judgment Dragon in Lightsworns. Falzar FZ 06:06, June 17, 2010 (UTC)

Well, can i destroy another six samurai to save Shien who was gonna destroy by the effect of a counter trap like Divine wrath?(first effect)Euzonas (talkcontribs) 18:04, July 30, 2010 (UTC)

As far as Divine Wrath goes, you wouldn't be able to save Shien beause he's being negated. Other Counter Traps, I'm not sure. Skullvarnish (talkcontribs) 19:44, July 30, 2010 (UTC)

devine wrath can't negate continous effects so devine wrath can't negate shogun. As for other counter traps, yes, if shogun would be destroyed by them while he is on the field he could be substituted with a six sam monster. It's a continous effect so you can always apply it no matter what spell speed the other card has. -dest- (talkcontribs) 20:16, July 30, 2010 (UTC)

The first effect isa summon effect, not continous. So that's why i ask ... Just like Grandmaster...(Euzonas (talkcontribs) 15:48, September 15, 2010 (UTC))

Please sign your post with four tildes (~~~~) on Forum Threads and Talk Pages as that will create a signature for you.

The first part is a Summoning Condition, not an effect. It does not activate, nor does it start a chain.-- HHTurtle  (Talk) 08:25, July 31, 2010 (UTC)