Talk:Xyz Material

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

This is the talk page for discussing the page, Xyz Material.

Please try to

  • Be polite
  • Assume good faith
  • Be welcoming

Removing an Xyz Monster[edit]

Does anyone know what happens when you "remove" an Exceed Material Monster? Is it actually removed from play, sent to the Graveyard, or something else entirely new, like have it face-down instead of face-up when it's an EMM. Also, what happens to them when the Exceed Monster is destroyed? If anyone finds out, I'd appreciate the help. A Wikia contirutor (talkcontribs) 07:22, February 17, 2011 (UTC)

Exceed Summon is a relatively new sort of Summon and it's not going to be entirely revealed until the manga makes progress. As far as logic goes, when the Exceed Monster is destroyed, the Material Monsters should also be destroyed. Removing from play an Exceed Monster should also resolve the Materials being destroyed (or removed from play), because if they stay on the field meaninglessly, Exceed Summoning will be too risky to do (for example if you think your opponent controls a face-down Bottomless Trap Hole), however if they are returned to the field, the Exceed Summon will become too powerful. Fluf (talkcontribs) 21:04, February 17, 2011 (UTC)
Yea, it was confirmed that they go to the Graveyard when the Exceed does, and when they are 'removed' from the Exceed they are sent to the Graveyard. I don't know what happens to them when the Exceed it removed thou, so that is something to look into. Thanks. A Wikia contirutor (talkcontribs) 21:10, February 17, 2011 (UTC)

Still Count on the field?[edit]

Does anyone have an idea if Exceed Materials are counted as on the field after they're used for an Exceed Summon? I want to know, because lots of swarming archetypes can abuse that with the extra space it would give them. --DARK 22:44, March 16, 2011 (UTC)

In reality, Materials would shove up in Exceed Monsters' rear once that monster is summoned. Just kindly like "Evolve" Pokemon Monsters, like you upgraded Pichu to Pikachu, you placed "Pikachu" over "Pichu". That's just an idea where you could place the materials, afterward if Exceed's effect required to remove Material, it will leave from their behind and into Graveyard/Remove from Play. --FredCat 23:02, March 16, 2011 (UTC)
That's a rather interesting analogy, FredCat... =D I don't think the Exceed Summoning mechanic will directly enable even more abusive swarming deck types, but depending on the support the Exceed mechanic receives, it may make Exceed Material Monster swarming deck types viable. ダイノガイ千?!? · ☎ Dinoguy1000 03:12, March 17, 2011 (UTC)
It should be posted that in the TCG, when an Xyz Material Monster is sent to the Graveyard, any effects they may have activate, such as Sangan or Reborn Tengu. The current wiki page contradicts this by only having the OCG ruling.

SO they are not considered on the field at all, correct? So if you were to use the effect of, say, "Inzektor Hornet" or "Raigeki Break", which destroy[s] 1 card on the field, you would NOT be able to target an Xyz Material, right? -Bhigpx (talkcontribs) 02:33, April 10, 2012 (UTC)

Exceeding Exceeds?[edit]

What about Exceeding Exceeds? Like i stack two exceed monsters on top of each other, does that mean that the exceed materials from the first two are removed, or do they stack under the new exceed monster and count as it's exceed 'units'. If it does, Gachigachi Gantetsu is going to become OP. Alboono (talkcontribs) 04:42, March 24, 2011 (UTC)

Since Ranks are not technically Levels, I'm not sure that's even possible. Cheesedude (talkcontribs) 14:32, March 24, 2011 (UTC)
Right. All currently-known Exceed monsters explicitly require monsters of a certain Level for their Exceed Summon, which means that other Exceed Monsters can not be used. ダイノガイ千?!? · ☎ Dinoguy1000 16:42, March 24, 2011 (UTC)

Hunh. Hadn't thought about it like that. Alboono (talkcontribs) 23:24, March 24, 2011 (UTC)

Hey, what if, in the future, Exceed Monsters will probably be able to Exceed Summon with the same Ranks like Accel Synchro Monster, except i have no idea how its rank is going to turn out. Just imagine it. Nah it probably wouldn't happen. LastMinute (talkcontribs) 06:29, April 30, 2011 (UTC)

Not really. what if a card said "2 Rank 4 Exceed Monsters" for example? Then it would be an Exceed Exceed :D Alboono (talkcontribs) 09:09, May 1, 2011 (UTC)

But guys think about Feedback Warrior. Its effect allows you to change a monster on the field to level 3. So as an example, Utopia is on the field and has two xyz materials, I summon Feedback Warrior and change Utopia to level 3. Xyz summoning for Leviathan Dragon will give it 4 overlay units????? Pros, I need help. Oswaldof4 (talkcontribs) 02:54, February 19, 2012 (UTC)

fyi, Xyz Monsters are unaffected by cards involving Levels. LastMinute (talkcontribs) 03:13, February 19, 2012 (UTC)

Thanks bro. Oswaldof4 (talkcontribs) 01:33, February 20, 2012 (UTC)

Monster Tokens[edit]

Do tokens count as exceed material? like for example can you use like three scape goat tokens to summon toragon?

That's already explain, Exceed cannot using Token as Material since it need to "remove" from the field and into the GRAVEYARD. I am sorry.

Then, why are they used for synchro summon? Again, you remove synchro material monsters from the field, but tokens go actually nowhere.--FredCat 13:04, May 17, 2011 (UTC)

In synchro summons, the Materials go to the graveyard, and they are forgotten, but in Xyz, the Materials do have use after the summon, if Tokens were used, they would disappear and the Xyz monster would lack Materials to use for its effects.

Yu-Gi-Oh does things like that all of the time, where they do something in the show that does not apply in the TCG. Example: Flame Swordsman in the show is a normal summon but in the tcg is a fusion summon. There are many more examples.

Shorten to "Xyz Material"?[edit]

From what I've seen of the effects of English-language Xyz Monster cards, it looks like Xyz Material Monsters are referred to simply as "Xyz Material(s)". Is this a consistent thing (more importantly, is it the same for Fusion Material Monsters and Synchro Material Monsters (whether in current card effects, or just upcoming ones)), and if so, does anyone else think we should shorten this article's name to just "Xyz Material"? ダイノガイ千?!? · ☎ Dinoguy1000 04:48, May 28, 2011 (UTC)

It's not for Fusion Monsters. See "Fusion Recovery", "Supply", "King of the Swamp", etc. I don't believe it is for Synchro Monsters either. I would say we should wait until GENF is actually released. If "Monster" is consistently omitted, we can move the page then. Cheesedude (talkcontribs) 09:25, May 28, 2011 (UTC)
You also have to take into consideration the July-text-overhaul they're doing. Since their trying to make text less confusing, they might be shrinking the names from 'material monster' to just 'material', like how 'removed from play' is being shortened to 'banished'. We'll just have to wait and see. A Wikia contirutor (talkcontribs) 09:30, May 28, 2011 (UTC)
True, that may be the case as well. Cheesedude (talkcontribs) 09:36, May 28, 2011 (UTC)
That was actually my first suspicion. I've been waiting to see if Tewart will make any further blog posts on the issue, but none so far.
As for the examples you gave, Cheesedude, it's rather interesting to see from "Supply" that it used to be written "Fusion-Material monster" (not that this really has much of anything to do with this discussion =D ). ダイノガイ千?!? · ☎ Dinoguy1000 16:31, May 28, 2011 (UTC)
The Xyz Materials are not treated as monsters, which is why they are not called 'Xyz Material Monsters': "However if an effect that would remove from play a Monster(s) on the field (like Dimensional Fissure) is activated, only the Xyz Monster will be affected. The Materials used will be sent to the Graveyard. "
-Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 01:58, May 29, 2011 (UTC)

Here's what Konami says on their Dawn of the Xyz product page

How to Xyz Summon
If you want to Xyz Summon, you need some face-up monsters on the field with the same level. You’ll also need an Xyz Monster in your Extra Deck that fits that Level. (Example: If you’re using 2 Level 4 monsters as your Xyz Material, you need an Xyz Monster that lists “2 Level 4 monsters” as the materials.)
When you’re ready to Xyz Summon, just take the Xyz Material monsters and pile them up on the field. Then take the matching Xyz Monster you’re Summoning out of your Extra Deck, and Summon it. Then place the pile of Xyz Materials underneath it.
That’s right: The Xyz Materials go UNDERNEATH the Xyz Monster. Then you can use them to pay costs for Xyz Monster effects, or to activate special Spell and Trap Cards that only work for Xyz Monsters!
Whenever you use an Xyz Material to pay a cost, or activate an Xyz Monster’s ability, the card will tell you to “detach” 1 Xyz Material. That means you take one of the Xyz Materials you stacked up under your Xyz Monster, and send it to the Graveyard.

Note that it says "Xyz Material" most of the time w/o the word monster after it, and the only time it has the word monster after it, it's in lower-case. I think it's safe to assume the official term is Xyz Material. Ascriptmaster (talkcontribs) 21:38, June 7, 2011 (UTC)

What is this?[edit]

It says that Xyz Materials are not on the field. And that is not in Japanese...Is it from a recent Jump magazine or something like that? If someone knows something more than this pic and can reply here to enlighten the situation a bit, that would be much appriciated. SoulRipper (talkcontribs) 20:32, August 31, 2011 (UTC)

Already mentioned in the forum. -Falzar FZ- (talk page|useful stuff) 01:34, September 1, 2011 (UTC)
Also that image is broken; it leaned me to photograph, but no image you wished to explaining. --iFredCat 20:21, October 26, 2012 (UTC)