Card Rulings:Advanced Heraldry Art

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

Q&A Rulings

A: No, you do not. When Special Summoning an Xyz Monster from the Extra Deck, it can be placed in either an Extra Monster Zone or your Main Monster Zone. The effect of "Advanced Heraldry Art" Special Summons the targeted monsters from the GY and then performs an Xyz Summon using those monsters, so you can use the Main Monster Zones that were being used by the Xyz Materials to perform the Xyz Summon. Even if there are no available Extra Monster Zones, you can activate "Advanced Heraldry Art".[2][3]
A: The Special Summon of the 2 monsters targeted by "Advanced Heraldry Art" cannot be negated by "Solemn Judgment". Also, at the time the 2 monsters Special Summoned by the effect of "Advanced Heraldry Art" are used as Xyz Materials for an Xyz Summon, "Solemn Judgment" or "Solemn Warning" can be activated and negate that Xyz Summon. In that case, they are not activated in a chain to "Advanced Heraldry Art", but rather in a new chain immediately in response to the attempted Xyz Summon after "Advanced Heraldry Art" finishes resolving as chain 1. ("Solemn Judgment" and similar cards become the chain 1 that responds to the Xyz Summon). Furthermore, "Solemn Judgment" or "Solemn Warning" can be activated in a chain to the activation of "Advanced Heraldry Art".[4]
  • Q: If the effect of "Summon Limit" that restricts both players to performing only 2 Summon is applying, and a Normal Summon has already been performed, can "Advanced Heraldry Art" be activated during that turn? Also, if "Advanced Heraldry Art" is activated during a turn in which a Normal Summon has been performed and "Summon Limit" is chained, how does this resolve?
A: When "Advanced Heraldry Art" is activated, after Special Summoning the 2 targeted monsters with its effect, an Xyz Summon using those 2 Special Summoned monsters is performed immediately. Therefore, if the effect of "Summon Limit" is being applied, "Advanced Heraldry Art" cannot be activated during a turn in which a Normal Summon has already been performed. Also, if "Advanced Heraldry Art" is activated during a turn in which a Normal Summon has been performed and "Summon Limit" is chained, the effect of "Advanced Heraldry Art" that Special Summons the 2 targeted monsters does resolve, but the effect that performs an Xyz Summon using the 2 Summoned monsters doesn't resolve.[5]
  • Q: As for the effect of "Advanced Heraldry Art" that Special Summons 2 targeted monsters and then performs an Xyz Summon using those 2 Special Summoned monsters, is it considered to perform a total of 2 Special Summons? For example, if during a turn in which you have activated the effect of "Maxx "C"" the opponent activates "Advanced Heraldry Art", Special Summoning 2 monsters and then performing an Xyz Summon, are 2 cards drawn by the effect of "Maxx "C""?
A: After the 2 targeted monsters are Special Summoned by the effect of "Advanced Heraldry Art", since a Xyz Summon using those 2 Summoned monsters as Xyz Materials is performed immediately afterwards, it is treated as performing 2 Special Summons. Therefore, if during a turn in which you have activated the effect of "Maxx "C"" the opponent activates "Advanced Heraldry Art", Special Summoning 2 monsters and then performing an Xyz Summon, you can draw 2 cards.[6]

References