Card Rulings:Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

  • The effect that sends 1 "Odd-Eyes Dragon" to the Graveyard and Special Summons this card is an Ignition Effect that activates in the hand. (It does not target. Tributing 1 LIGHT monster in your Monster Zone is a cost to activate this effect. You can also Tribute a face-down Defense Position LIGHT monster.)[1]
  • Sending 1 "Odd-Eyes Dragon" to the Graveyard and Special Summoning this card are considered to happen at the same time.[1]
  • The effect that destroys 1 monster the opponent controls is a Trigger Effect. (It activates at the end of the Damage Step. It does not target.)[1]
  • This effect cannot be activated if "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon" battles a monster with the same ATK and both monsters are destroyed.[1]

Q&A Rulings

On Special Summoning this card

A: When resolving the effect that Special Summons "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon", you cannot send to the Graveyard a face-down Defense Position "Odd-Eyes Dragon" in your Monster Zone or a face-up "Odd-Eyes Dragon" in your Spell & Trap Zone that is treated as an Equip Card by the effect of "Relinquished". To activate the effect that Special Summons "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon", you must have an "Odd-Eyes Dragon" in your hand, your Deck, or face-up in your Monster Zone.[2]
A: If the effect of "Vanity's Emptiness" is already being applied, you cannot activate the effect of an "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon" in the hand.
Also, if the effect of "Vanity's Emptiness" is activated in Chain to the activation of the effect of "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon", you cannot Special Summon "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon". Even in that case, you still send 1 "Odd-Eyes Dragon" from your hand, Deck, or field to the Graveyard.[3]
A: If the effect of "Stellarknight Constellar Diamond" is already being applied, you can activate the effect of an "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon" in the hand if you can send 1 "Odd-Eyes Dragon" from your hand or face-up from your field to the Graveyard. (You cannot activate this effect if you only have copies of "Odd-Eyes Dragon" in your Deck.)
Also, if the effect of a "Stellarknight Constellar Diamond" that was Special Summoned in Chain to the activation of the effect of "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon" is being applied, you can Special Summon "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon" as usual if you can send 1 "Odd-Eyes Dragon" from your hand or face-up from your field to the Graveyard, but if you only have copies of "Odd-Eyes Dragon" in your Deck, you cannot Special Summon "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon". ("Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon" remains in the hand.)[4]
A: If the effect of "Macro Cosmos" is being applied when the effect resolves, "Odd-Eyes Dragon" is banished instead of being sent to the Graveyard. In that case, "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon" is not Special Summoned from the hand. ("Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon" remains in the hand.) Even if the effect of "Macro Cosmos" is already being applied, you can still activate the effect of "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon", but the effect resolves as in the previous scenario.[5]
A: If the "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon" that activated the effect is no longer in the hand when the effect resolves, it is not Special Summoned. Even in that case, you still send 1 "Odd-Eyes Dragon" from your hand, Deck, or field to the Graveyard.[6]

On destroying 1 monster the opponent controls

  • Q: If "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon" destroys a monster that I own by battle, can its effect that destroys 1 monster the opponent controls be activated?
A: Even if the monster that "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon" destroyed by battle is sent from the opponent's field to your Graveyard, you can activate the effect of "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon".[7]
A: If an "Embodiment of Apophis" that is treated as a Monster Card is destroyed, it is sent to the Graveyard as a Trap Card. Since a Monster Card was not destroyed by battle and sent to the Graveyard, you cannot activate the effect of "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon".[8]
A: In this case, you cannot activate the effect of "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon". Monster Tokens disappear instead of being sent to the Graveyard and Pendulum Monsters are added to the Extra Deck instead of being sent to the Graveyard.[9]
A: In this case, you cannot activate the effect of "Odd-Eyes Saber Dragon". While "Macro Cosmos" is active, monsters destroyed by battle are banished instead of being sent to the Graveyard. (The same applies to the "Plaguespreader Zombie" that was Special Summoned by its own effect.)[10]

References