Card Rulings:Shadow of Eyes

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

OCG Rulings

  • This card targets 1 Set monster your opponent controls.[1]
  • This card can be activated when a monster is Normal Set, or when a monster is Special Summoned in face-down Defense Position by an effect such as "The Shallow Grave", or when a face-up monster is changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of "Tsukuyomi".[1]
  • When a monster is changed to face-down Defense Position by the effect of "Book of Moon" that was activated as Chain Link 2 or higher, "Shadow of Eyes" cannot be activated.[1]
  • This card cannot be activated during the Damage Step.[1]
  • This card can be activated even if 2 or more monsters are Set at the same time, such as by the effect of "Morphing Jar #2". (However, if the effect of "Morphing Jar #2" was activated during the Damage Step, "Shadow of Eyes" cannot be activated.)[1]

Q&A Rulings

  • Q: When I Set a "Spear Cretin", my opponent activates "Shadow of Eyes", and its effect changes that "Spear Cretin" to face-up Attack Position. Afterward, if "Spear Cretin" is destroyed by the effect of "Raigeki Break" and sent to the Graveyard, will its effect activate?
A: The effect of "Shadow of Eyes" prevents the effects of Flip monsters from being activated immediately as a result of being flipped face-up by its effect. The Trigger Effect of "Spear Cretin" is not activated when it is flipped face-up, but rather when it is subsequently sent to the Graveyard. Therefore, in this scenario, the effect of "Spear Cretin" that was later destroyed and sent to the Graveyard will activate normally.[2]

Previously Official Rulings

  • "Shadow of Eyes" can be activated when multiple monsters are Special Summoned in face-down Defense Position by the same effect. In this case, select a monster when you activate "Shadow of Eyes".


References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 Shadow of Eyes
  2. YGOrganization Card Database: Ruling #12649
  3. Konami Judge Program Forum: Individual Email Rulings VS Individual Card Rulings
  4. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [A-C]
  5. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [D-E]
  6. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [F-H]
  7. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [I-K]
  8. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [L-O]
  9. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [P-R]
  10. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [S-T]
  11. UDE FAQ: Individual Card Rulings [U-Z]
  12. UDE FAQ: SPECIFIC CARDS RULINGS