Card Rulings talk:Elemental HERO Rampart Blaster

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

This is the talk page for discussing the page, Card Rulings:Elemental HERO Rampart Blaster.

Please try to

  • Be polite
  • Assume good faith
  • Be welcoming

Japanese rulings[edit]

  • I'm wondering heavily about the last one. It doesn't sound right. Danny Lilithborne 04:27, 21 December 2007 (UTC)
    • I removed it because I also think it is wrong, if not please revert my edit. --Tyrant Slayer 04:33, 21 December 2007 (UTC)
      • I read the article on this card on the Japanese wiki, and the ruling you removed was correct. Rampart Blaster cannot direct attack if the opponent has monsters... which is apparently Konami's mistake. --Pizzaman 01:46, 7 January 2008 (UTC)
        • Ok, thanks for reverting my change. --Tyrant Dragon Slayer 04:07, 7 January 2008 (UTC)
          • I think it must be a japanese ruling because it like that on some games. Dmaster 00:17, 14 February 2008 (UTC)
            • It was; rumor has it that the OCG ruling was that Rampart Blaster couldn't attack in DEF while the opponent still had monsters, but was called out by UDE and the fans when it was learned that the card's translations didn't hint at all that that was the case (supposedly, the TCG ignored the ruling because it didn't sync with what the card's actual text said). Konami eventually admitted that the ruling was wrong, but refused to change it, so as far as I know, to this day, the ruling is still valid for the OCG. 18:42, November 15, 2009 (UTC)
Konami never admitted that it is incorrect, since the ruling is correct. There are several cases of cards with the same text having different rulings. The TCG ignores it because it's weird, although there are lots of weird rulings in this game. --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 01:10, November 17, 2009 (UTC)
Well, consider of it as Total Defense Shogun, omitting the effect of half ATK points. --FredCat100 01:22, November 17, 2009 (UTC)
Pardon? The two are different. "Total Defense Shogun" can attack while in DEF Mode while your opponent controls monsters. "Elemental Hero Rampart Blaster" cannot. --Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 22:56, November 18, 2009 (UTC)
This topic confuses me, because according to these users, the rulings are the reverse of what the article claims. Does the OCG ruling say that Rampart Blaster can attack directly even if your opponent controls monsters, or is that the TCG ruling? Ultimateyami (talk • contribs) 03:57, October 5, 2015 (UTC)
Consider the possibility that Japan used to have a ruling that said that a Defense Position Rampart Blaster could only attack directly if the opponent controlled no monsters, while the TCG ruled the opposite. The TCG later changed it to the Japanese ruling, so the rulings became same for both the OCG and TCG. However more recently, Japan has changed their ruling to allow Rampart Blaster to attack directly regardless of opponent's monsters, thus gaining conflicting rulings again. The above users' discussion is valid, considering the rulings for this card at the time of discussion. --UltimateKuriboh (talkcontribs) 04:42, October 5, 2015 (UTC)

messenger of peace[edit]

hi i was wondering about messenger of peace on the field while i have no monsters and against rampart blaster in def on my opponents side of the field, can rampart still attk even tho messenger of peace says monsters with 1500 attk or more can't attk, and also if rampart blaster's effect only activate when it attks does messenger of peace stop it or no. 04:48, May 25, 2010 (UTC)

That doesn't work. "Elemental Hero Rampart Blaster" has to declare an attack in order for you to halve its ATK. If "Messenger of Peace" is active, then "Elemental Hero Rampart Blaster" can't attack, so you can't halve its ATK.
We have a rulings forum specifically set up for your rulings questions.
--Deus Ex Machina (Talk) 07:25, May 25, 2010 (UTC)