Card Rulings:Forbidden Chalice

From Yugipedia
Jump to: navigation, search

TCG Rulings

  • Forbidden Chalice” can only negate monster effects that activate on the field or are applied on the field. Monster effects that activate in the Graveyard, like “Sangan,” are not negated by “Forbidden Chalice.”[1]
  • The effect of “Forbidden Chalice” expires during the End Phase like any other effect. Normal rules of priority apply, and the turn player must resolve effects first in the case of dual passing.[1]

Mentions in Other Rulings

  • Torapart: If “Skill Drain” is active while you use “Torapart” to Synchro Summon a monster, “Torapart” is now no longer on the field, so the effect of “Torapart” will be applied. So the opponent cannot activate Trap Cards when that Synchro Monster attacks. This is because the restriction on activating Trap Cards is an effect of “Torapart,” not an effect of the Synchro Monster. If “Torapart’s” effects are being negated by “Forbidden Chalice,” the same rule applies – Trap Cards cannot be activated when the Synchro Monster attacks.

OCG Rulings

  • This effect targets 1 face-up monster on the field.[2]
  • The effect of "Forbidden Chalice" will only negate effects which activate on the field, or Continuous Effects which are applied for as long as the monster remains on the field. It cannot negate effects which activate in the Graveyard, like the effect of "Sangan".[7]

Mentions in Other Rulings


  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 Konami Gameplay FAQ: Raging Battle – Card Rulings (version 1.2)
  2. Konami OCG Card Database: Forbidden Chalice
  3. Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] When the effect of "Jinzo #7" is negated during the Damage Step, do you perform Damage Calculation?
  4. Konami FAQ: When "Forbidden Chalice" negates the effect of "Beast King Barbaros", what does its ATK become?
  5. Konami FAQ: When "Light and Darkness Dragon" is affected by "Forbidden Chalice", what does its ATK and DEF become?
  6. Konami FAQ: [Damage Step] Can "Forbidden Chalice" be activated during the Damage Step?
  7. 7.0 7.1 Konami FAQ: Can the effect of "Forbidden Chalice" negate the effect of a monster which is not on the field?
  8. Konami FAQ: When "Torapart" is used as a Synchro Material Monster while its effect is negated, do you apply the effect which prevents Trap Cards from being activated?
  9. Konami FAQ: When the effect of a monster like "Fortune Lady Earth" is negated by an effect like "Skill Drain", does its altered Level return to the original value?
  10. Konami FAQ: Is any of the text of "Quickdraw Synchron" treated as the effect of an Effect Monster?
  11. Konami FAQ: Will "Skill Drain" negate the effect of "Djinn Releaser of Rituals" which is applied to a Ritual Monster?
  12. Konami FAQ: Can you activate the effect of "Majestic Star Dragon" and target a monster whose effects are already being negated?
  13. Konami FAQ: If the effect of "Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon" is negated, then is it destroyed by its own effect if there is no longer a Field Card?
  14. Konami FAQ: If the effect of "Malefic Blue-Eyes White Dragon" is negated, then can other monsters attack?
  15. Konami OCG FAQ: If "Forbidden Chalice" is activate upon the second attack declaration of "Kachi Kochi Dragon" or during the Damage Step, then can it not attack?
  16. Konami OCG FAQ: If you activate "Skill Drain" after attacking directly with "Infernity Archer", then does a Replay occur?