|Help support Yugipedia by using our Chrome extension, which redirects links to the old Wikia/Fandom site to Yugipedia, ensuring you see the most up-to-date information. Firefox users don't worry—a similar Firefox add-on will be out soon. If you have any issues or find any bugs, be sure to let us know on Discord!|
|Japanese (base text)||
During the Battle Step, the turn player can declare an attack by targeting either an opponent's monster or the opponent themself. If a replay occurs, the turn player can select an attack target again (even if it is the same choice), potentially allowing for effects that activate upon a monster being targeted for an attack to activate again, such as that of "Vengeful Shinobi".
Some card effects can restrict a player's choice of attack target (such as that of "Marshmallon Glasses") or conduct battle with a monster without selecting it as an attack target (such as that of "Dreamsprite"). There are also card effects that allow a player's opponent to choose their attack targets for them, such as that of "Patrician of Darkness".
- Konami. Yu-Gi-Oh! Trading Card Game - Official Rulebook Version 10 (PDF). p. 38.
- "Individual Card Rulings [D-E]". UDE. Dreamsprite. Archived from the original on 18 February 2009. Retrieved 30 January 2016.
If you control "Dreamsprite", "The Legendary Fisherman", and "Umi" is on the field, "Dreamsprite"’s effect can still change an attack target to "The Legendary Fisherman" because he is not being targeted with an attack, but is being targeted with a monster effect.